You Can Handle It

I get so disturbed when I read stories like this.  It’s another story about a mother taking the life (lives) of their child(ren).  This South Carolina mom, it seems, felt like she just couldn’t take it anymore.  I’ve come to understand that when things like this happen, something mentally is wrong with a person.  Just like germs can enter our body and cause us to get a cold or flu or strept throat, there has to be something taking over the brain like a germ that causes people not to think straight when confronted with a problem that they just don’t seem to know how to solve in a rational manner.  It just makes my heart hurt to think about what those little boys could have been thinking while they were being smothered by their mother.  I mean, I know our house is filled to capacity right now, but I would gladly take in more children if it meant their lives would be spared from a parent who just couldn’t handle it anymore.   

I’m happy to be able to say that I’ve never reached that point where I’ve felt like I couldn’t take “it” anymore.  I credit that to my faith in God.  I’ve seen faith modeled through my mother, grandmother, and other members of my family.  I’ve seen faith modeled in those individuals who have had so much more to “lose it” over than I could ever imagine, and they still manage to live each day to the fullest.  I’ve been taught that God will never put more on you than what you can bear.  I know that scripture refers more to being tempted to sin…well killing someone is a sin.  My point is when our party of six have our crazy days that I wish could just start over, I have to remind myself of this sometimes to get through the day.  Each morning after my daily devotion, I always end my prayer with “Lord, help me to remember that nothing can happen today that you and I together can’t handle” and I start my day with a little more confidence knowing that I’m not doing this alone.

If you ever feel like you can’t handle it anymore, just know that you can!  God said that you can, so let Him know that you need Him.  You know the Footprints story, right?  Sometimes instead of walking with us, God has to carry us.  It’s okay to let Him carry you through some things sometimes.  I want all of you to be around as long as I plan to be!!

I’m heading into Day 3 of this math workshop.  I’m learning lots of good stuff and I’m getting excited about trying this new math curriculum with my new Twittlebugs this year! 

SN: Ginny, the salsa chicken was a BIG HIT tonight!  Thanks for sharing!

Peace and blessings!

2 thoughts on “You Can Handle It

  1. Richard Dailey says:

    I love your website and I love your observations and commentary! This particular passage is strong and meaningful to me. God and I are still working some issues out, but there will never be a break-up. : ) Anyway, I am amazed at what you are doing now and hope you will continue to keep up the great work. By the way, the family is beautiful!!

  2. Patricia Kelly says:

    As a single woman that wants to be married and wanted to have children my heart is very heavy about hearing the story of the woman in South Carolina. Growing up I wanted 12 children and have a great deal of love for children. It saddens me to hear about children being killed by their parents.

    Pat

Comments are closed.