Some Singin’ Sisters

Last week, I finally made it back to choir rehearsal!  It’s been at least a year, I think, since I took my leave of absence and how I’ve missed my sisters!  Our official name is The Women’s Ecumenical Choir of Ebenezer Baptist Church.  There are many different denominations represented in the choir, but we all serve the same God. I’m a part of the tenor section (better known as The Tenor Girls).  We have laughed together, cried together, celebrated together, traveled together, prayed together, played together, got yelled at together, been praised for a job well done together…and every once in a while we sing together!  The icing on the cake is that we sound good most of the time thanks to a great  director, Minister Becky Jenkins, and awesome musicians.

My point in talking about the choir is to give a little piece of advice to Moms who are way too busy like me – you must make time for YOURSELF!  For me, the choir is something that I’ve chosen to do for me.  It’s not something for the cubs and I, or even something for PB and I, but it is just for me.  So many times parents end up living their lives through their children or spouses.  Then, when the day comes for those children to move out and start their own lives, it’s hard to let go because they devoted every ounce of their lives to their children and/or spouse.  It’s perfectly okay to be selfish every once in a while!  So, once a week I don’t get to kiss the cubs good night because when I get home from rehearsal the bedtime rituals are completed.  But it’s a sacrifice that I make in order to be with my sisters for a few hours in fellowship, and to be a better mom and wife.  Take time for yourselves, Ladies!

Peace and Blessings!

 

Thanks for the pictures Berean Baptist Church and LaDonna Williams!

4 thoughts on “Some Singin’ Sisters

  1. Becky says:

    Thank you for the compliment. By the way that is a fine guy in that picture!!! Whoo Hoo!!! Glad he’s mine!! 🙂 Glad you’re back with us!!

  2. Corretta Kay says:

    The choir is awesome. I understand extactly what your saying about having something specifically for you. Women, Men, and Children need a personal stress releaser. “A little time apart” never hurt anyone. In fact sometimes it can make a relationship grow stronger.

Comments are closed.