Still Thankful

Happy Veteran’s Day to those who have made it possible for me to share my opinions through this blog!  In particular to Uncle Ellis, Uncle Ray, Uncle Kenny, Aunt Kelleye, Buck (bro-in-law), and Mr. Kay (dad-in-law) – much love for you all!

I am wrapping up a two-day break from school (Yay!).  Yesterday, I had the privilege of having lunch with PB and some of his Wednesday morning bible study group.  This is a group of “seasoned” disciples who have always treated us like their own children and/or grandchildren from the start.  We went to a Japanese restaurant called Fuji Mountain.  For some of them, it was their first time eating at a Japanese restaurant and they had many preconceptions about what they were going to experience – like sitting on the floor or having to take off their shoes – but they were pleasantly surprised and happy to find that there were chairs involved!  These mothers and fathers are so very excited and proud of PB although they are sad to see him leave.  They understand…and I wish their understanding would rub off on others who are angry and mad about God moving us on to another chapter in our lives.

Great food! Shrimp, Veggies, Fried Rice, and Noodles!

                                                                                                                                                                  

Patiently waiting for our lunch!

                                                                                                                                                                  Today, PB and I spent some time packing up some of his things at EBC.  We had to split up for a little bit while he attended a funeral, then we met up for a late lunch afterwards.  We cherish the hour or two, here and there, that we manage to spend together just the two of us.  Last week, we went grocery shopping without the whole Party and the lady behind the deli counter asked about the Cubs!  It felt weird having only one cart and I guess it looked weird, too, for those who see us on a regular basis trying to blend in.  While he attended the funeral this afternoon, I did a little shopping.  I found new stockings and stocking holders for the fireplace.  I’m so excited about the holidays that I’m trying to convince PB that we need to start decorating this weekend so that we have more time to enjoy them! 

A few weeks ago, Cub 1 ran for a student council position.  He had to get teacher recommendations and write a speech that he read on Malcolm’s morning television show.  We worked on posters that he put up around the school during the week before the election.  In the end, he won the office of vice-president of the intermediate grades (3rd-5th)!  His main campaign promise included parties and popsicles after taking the county tests each quarter – just like a true politician – empty promises!  We were very proud of him and had his victory dinner (shrimp and pasta) on Friday.

Student Council members on display at MalcolmCub 1 - VP of Grades 3-5

Cub 1 - VP of Grades 3-5

 

                                                                                                                                                         Last Saturday was Cub 2’s last flag football game.  The playoffs began at 8:00am and he had to be there at 7:30am.  The girls did well despite the cold morning and being out and about before the sun was barely up.  Cub 2’s team lost the game, but I can’t say that I was too upset about it because I was ready for some warmth!

We almost beat the sun getting up so early!

Cub 4 had on many, many layers for the early morning game.

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           We are only two weeks away from one of my favorite holidays!  Be sure that you find one thing to be thankful for everyday!

Peace and Blessings!

7 thoughts on “Still Thankful

  1. Adrianne says:

    Hi. I just joined Facebook! I was browsing around trying to feel my way through Facebook to see what it does. I ran across your blog page. I just want to let you know that you and your family have been a blessing to EBC whether EBC knows it, shows it, admits it, or not. I agree some people can be very mean when they want to be. I, for myself, am privileged to have known your entire family. Your mom, grandmother, and sisters are a wonderful group of people. I’m so glad to have met you all. I am truly going to miss you and that awesome, beautiful smile of yours. The Tenor Girl section in the choir will not be the same. I’ve had to sing our part in the song, “I’m In Love With Jesus” alone because no one else, other than Penney, can sing it. That’s when I TRULY MISS YOU, GIRL! Anyways, I pray to God to carry you and your family on the journey He has set for you. You are going to be okay. I will also miss Cub 1 coming to me with that big hug every now and then. Be blessed.

    • Thank you, Mrs. A!! You’re too kind, and I will definitely share this with the Elmore/Wilson women! I hope I have the chance to come back to the choir eventually! Until then, you better REPRESENT like you always do, Tenor Girl!!

  2. Erin says:

    I love reading your posts! Also, I would just like to mention that, I MADE THAT BLANKET!!!! I so love seeing my creations out and about in the world. Makes me smile.

  3. Becky says:

    I am going to miss all of you!! You have become my family so that means we will have to get together every now and then. I know you will do fine at Brentwood…..just continue to be who you are!! Take care of my Pastor and my babies…..especially Cub 3 (smile). I will come to Brentwood and be her “armour bearer” if need be!!!

    Love you much!!

  4. Terry Akins says:

    There are others that are happy for Pastor and his new position and journey but unfortunately we are over shadowed by those who are mad and angry. I pray God’s richest blessings for you all and will miss you all dearly. Pastor has been a GREAT!!! Pastor for me and my spiritual walk and will miss his teachings very much!! I’m glad you’re not that far away that I can’t come and visit with you all at Brentwood. Or maybe I’ll run into you at the Target in Waldorf. Be Blessed!!!

    • Terry, you know you’re one of my favorite disciples at EBC!! I’m truly going to miss you and the genuine-ness (not sure if that’s a word) that radiates from you 24/7…whether singing, ushering, teaching…it shows in everything that you do. One day I’ll get over myself and make it back to EBC for a visit, but for now God’s got to get this resentment for EBC out of my system! He’s definitely not through with me yet! Please, please, please come and visit us when you can get away. Actually, since service starts at 9:00, you can come visit us and still get to EBC by 11:00ish!! Just a thought! Love you!

Comments are closed.