family, first birthday, parenting, teachers

Rest Easy

This evening Cub 1 received his second phone call this week from his girl “friend” at school…yes, my fifth grader. PB is elated – grinning from ear to ear over this. PB even allowed Cub 1 to talk to her when he wasn’t even finished with his homework the other night; and do you think he was able to concentrate after getting off of the phone?? Ten years from now when Cubs 3 and 4 start getting phone calls (or making the phone calls), I’m sure that nice, wide grin will disappear! Such a double standard! Lol!

We celebrated two birthdays this week in the Party of Six. We took PB out to lunch at Boston’s on Tuesday.

 

On Wednesday, Cub 4 enjoyed her personal birthday cake that she destroyed in about 15 minutes. She had a runny nose, but she was a good sport while entertaining us. Needless to say, she slept very well that night even with the sugar surge so close to bedtime.


         

Which brings me to another point. Cub 4 faithfully falls asleep with her thumb in her mouth while holding one of her favorite blankets close to her face. I think it’s the sweetest thing ever, so I snapped a picture the other night.

Her blankets (all Laura M. originals) have become her comfort and security which is such a great analogy for how we should view our relationship with God. Matthew 11:28-29 says “Come to me, all of you who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke and put it on you, and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in spirit; and you will find rest.”  A relationship with Him brings comfort and security, and we can rest easier if we keep that message in our hearts.

I feel like I’ve worked a full week, but I only put in two days! Whew! I’m spending my weekend grading papers because it’s report card time again!  We are half way through this school year!! Yay!!

Peace and Blessings!

1 thought on “Rest Easy”

  1. Wow–her hair is really growing. My girl “Ms Pudge” is looking every bit like the “big sister”. You are right–PB’s grin will change to a scowl!! We were out to dinner with Nikki the other night and a little guy stopped and was staring at her. CJ glared at the little guy and asked him what was he looking at. I said he is looking at our cute daughter. He growled at the little guy and said “keep it moving partner”. I was like OMG!! I don’t believe you! There always will be a definite double standard when it comes to their daughters!! I have to send you a picture of Nikki. She has a “Willow Smith” type haircut!! You know I almost had a stroke…..but Ronnye keeps reminding me that she is fourteen years old!! Where is my baby??!!
    Love ya much!

Comments are closed.