My New Goal

I’m sitting in Cub 3’s room waiting for her to fall asleep so that I can get some school and house work done.  This isn’t my normal routine during the week.  PB usually sits with Cub 3 until she falls asleep, but it’s bible study night and he isn’t here yet.  So, Cub 3 will more than likely stay awake until he gets here to relieve me, but I’m still going through the motions of making her go to bed even though she’s fighting to stay awake until she hears him come through the door.

I wanted to start working on a new goal tonight, but I still have a lot on my To Do list before I can even think about it.  My new goal (like I really need to add one more thing to my plate) is to run a 5K race this spring with some other co-workers from Malcolm.  I’ve convinced myself that if I stick to a good training program, I’ll be ready to run this race by April.  Now, I’ve never been the type to just go out for a run.  A walk?  No problem!  But, to go out for a jog on my own just because I want to?  Never! 

My point in sharing this with everyone is to jump on the importance of having goals.  Setting goals (and reaching them) gives you direction.  Where do you see yourself in 10 years?  Five years?  Next year?  You should have some goals that are outrageous – like becoming a bazillionaire.  You should have some realistic, obtainable goals – like saving enough money to add on four extra days to your vacation.  You should also have some easy goals – like getting out the door and to work on time tomorrow morning.  If you’re just living each day without a game plan, you’re just waisting your days away…and that’s just sad.

I’ll let you know if I reach this new, obtainable goal in a couple of months!

Peace and Blessings!

13 thoughts on “My New Goal

  1. Carla says:

    My goal to start and stick to a realistic exercise program. Lifting my fork no longer counts….enough said.

  2. Pat says:

    You “CAN” and “WILL” complete your goals. Since the beginning of this year I have set my goals, and everything is falling into place. I began to eat sensible food and the one thing I could never eat which I know is good for you is “Oatmeal.” Now I cannot do without it. I drink more water than I’ve ever drank in my life. And last, I went back to the old way of praying, down on my knees at night & in the morning. IT FEELS SO GREAT!!!!!! Run your race and I will be there to cheer you on my sister.

  3. Becky says:

    Yes, my goal everyday is not to go “postal” on people and since you haven’t seen me on the 5 o’clock news, I guess I’m doing pretty good!! Ha! Ha! Seriously my goal is to stay patient in this new season of my life. Both personally and spiritually. Hopefully, within the next year I will have acheived my goal of being ordained.

    To you my sister I say–Run Momma Bear, Run!!!!!!1

  4. Yvonne says:

    Thanks for the blog…it’s motivation for me! Lately I’ve been thinking about some goals that I set in the past; unfortunately, I missed the mark on them! Now, I’m setting new deadlines and yes, I agree with you, setting some short-term goals will help to keep you (at least me) focus on the journey. Best wishes to you on reaching your goal of running a 5K this spring!

  5. Patricia Kelly says:

    Setting goals is so important and necessary. I am pulling for you….Run Momma Bear Run-:) or a mild jog will do!

    • I’ve looked at that one, and I think that’s the one I’m going to use! I’m pumped and ready to start. I’ve heard that the Couch to 5k is super easy, and that’s what I need! I’m thinking about starting on Sunday. Let’s do it!

  6. Doris says:

    You can do it!! Okay, I’m with you. Only my first goal will be to walk each day and eventually get rid of this cane. My second goal will be to join Weight Watchers Plus Points Online program and lose at least 30 pounds by the time my family reunions occurs in August.
    Good luck.

Comments are closed.