family

I’m Still Learning

I’m learning to be grateful.  For some reason, my voice sounds like a whisper.  I don’t have a cold.  I don’t have a sore throat.  I don’t have a clue as to why I cannot talk.  Being that I’m a teacher and spend most of the day talking, my day was not very productive and quite frustrating.  It’s so easy to take the little things for granted, but today I’m grateful for my tenor voice and I can’t wait to get it back.  So, I’m sipping hot tea and still “voicing” my opinion through this blog.

There’s a passage in the bible (it’s in Luke) about ten lepers who asked Jesus to heal them from leprosy.  Jesus healed all ten lepers, but only one returned to him to say thank you.  After today, I’ve realized that I don’t always say thank you for blessings that I expect to get (like waking up and being able to talk).  It’s been so easy for me to think about the other nine lepers in a negative way because they were blessed with cleansed bodies, but forgot to say thank you.  Now, I’m thinking that I don’t always behave like the one leper who returned…what a lesson.  Like I said, I’m learning…

Peace and Blessings!

6 thoughts on “I’m Still Learning”

  1. Every night before I lay my head on the pillow–I say “Thank you Jesus”. I used to hear my Mom say it before she went sleep every night. I used to think why does she do that? Why doesn’t she just thank Him during the day and get it out of the way. What I didn’t know–she was thanking Him all day long and she said thanking Him as her last act of thankgiving for the day was just in case she woke up in Glory. The last thing she wanted to have done was to thank Jesus! We take so many things for granted–including our next breath! I am so grateful to Him for all He has done for me and for the things He is assigning me to do. I thank Him as I lay my head on the pillow for watching over me while I sleep and I thank Him when He opens my eyes in the morning. The lesson of gratitude and thanksgiving is powerful. I thank you Jesus and I am grateful!!

  2. Terrific blog! I am definitely still learning to say “Thank you” like the leper and not ask the question “why me”.

  3. Going through this present issue has taught me another layer of gratitude, that i was not aware of i am learning about many things that i have taken for granted, but i m making it my business not to continue in that lane, i have so much to be thankful for!

Comments are closed.