5K race, family, parenting, pastor's wife, teachers

5K Update: On Hold :(

It’s been an interesting couple of days.  What started as self-diagnosed seasonal allergies a couple of weeks ago ended yesterday with a scary asthma attack.  Yeah, haven’t had one of those in over 20 years, and I could wait another 20 before having one again!  It seems that I need to take a little more time training for a 5K because my lungs haven’t worked this hard since my undergrad years.  So, the goal is on hold until I can get my peak flow meter to an acceptable number.  In case you didn’t know, a peak flow meter measures your air capacity.  For my weight and age, my number should be in the 500 range.  Right now, it’s 250 – very weak!

On to better news – SPRING BREAK is five school days away!!  The Party will actually get the chance to spend  a few days away this year.  PB never has the opportunity to enjoy spring break with us because our break is always during Holy Week.  However, we’re excited that he gets to sneak away for just a couple of days with us this year.

We are also getting excited about our first Easter in North Brentwood!  There will be a 6:00am service, breakfast, then 9:00am service.  Can the cubs survive such an early morning?  I guess the more important question is will PB and I survive such an early morning trying to get them up and out the door!  To my moms with experience in this area, any advice on how to get it done would be greatly appreciated!  Have a great week blog family!

Peace and Blessings!

6 thoughts on “5K Update: On Hold :(”

  1. Hey Girl—sorry to hear about your asthma attack. EBC getting closer to selecting an interim….can’t wait. It was good to see and hear Rev. Kay last week. Buck was there too and of course they bothered me as usual. Tell him I still have his package and Micah’s. So much is on me….I can’t even find time to go to the mailbox!! We just celebrated the one year wedding anniversary (April 10th). Mr. Jenkins bought me two (2) diamond necklaces!!! Wonder what he is going to do for my birthday??!!! I am getting so spoiled!! Don’t you love it!!

    Take care and miss you much!!

  2. Wow, I need tips on how to get myself up, ready and out of the house at that time of morning. @Tasha, I used to do Jazz’s hair the night before sans the bows. Usually I would shampoo and braid it up and then in the morning grab it up in a cute bow and let it loose. Jazz never liked getting her hair combed and this was the easiest and least traumatic for both of us…lol.

  3. I don’t know if you already do this or not, but iron all of the clothes Friday or Saturday night. Now I have two boys, so whenever I had to go somewhere that early, I would allow the youngest one to remain sleep while I put his clothes on, so it wasn’t such a hassle. I don’t know how this works with little girls when it comes to combing the hair. I even delegated some responsibility to the oldest by getting him up before the youngest one, and he would help his brother get ready. Again…my sons are seven years apart, and they are used to this by now.

    Sorry to hear about your asthma attack. I will keep you in prayer, and I hope to get up to a service soon.

    Love you,

    Natasha

    1. We will have clothes ready the night before. We were also thinking about dressing the girls at church. So, it would be just a matter of scooping them up and putting them in the truck. The hair will be an issue, though!! I am no good in that area! Lol!

  4. Sorry about the 5k. More important sorry to hear about your asthma attack. I hope you feel better soon. Good luck surviving the different easter services with the cubs. The only tip I have for possible survival is PRAY, Get in bed on time (or 45min’s earlier)the night before, and Take some treats (Easter coloring book w washable crayons/colored pencils, scratch pad w pencil, etc.). Eventually the cubs aren’t going to wanna sit still so the new treats may give them something to do while having to sit through service. Again, Good luck!

Comments are closed.