family, teachers

Butt, or But?

Earlier today, I was sitting at the Museum of Natural History waiting for lost Twittlebugs to find me. The only empty bench in the Rotunda is here:

Yes, I was stuck on a bench in clear view of an elephant’s butt! I often use the phrase “That’s just butt!” when I’m not happy about a situation…never in front of the cubs because they aren’t allowed to use the “b” word. 🙂  So, today when I woke up and heard the wind, rain, and thunder, my thought was “This field trip is going to be butt!”  That was my thought because we are not allowed to take food into the museum and I did not want to eat on the bus. It’s much more fun for the students when they can eat on the Mall’s lawn and get a little recess time. But, when we left out for lunch, the rain had stopped and the sun was shining (yay)! We were able to enjoy our lunch outside after all!
On the bus heading back to school, I started thinking about some of my “butt” situations and I tried to come up with a “but” to balance my complaints:

I want to have one day of not doing laundry, BUT I’m thankful I have clothes to wash!

I want to sleep in and not have to wake up to an alarm clock, BUT I’m thankful that God allows me to hear the alarm clock every morning!

I can’t wait for this school year to be over, BUT I’m thankful that I have a job!

When you have a “butt” moment, try to find the “but” in your situation…and please share them with me if you’d like!

Peace and Blessings!

4 thoughts on “Butt, or But?”

  1. Hi!

    I just wanted to say thanks for the word of encouragement on my Called Out post. I absolutely love your blog, and am adding it to my Google Reader.

    1. Thank you so much for visiting! I think your kids are ADORABLE! I like the idea of blogging through pictures – very creative! I’m looking forward to reading more!

Comments are closed.