being specific, cameras, communicating, expectations, family, homework, marriage, miscommunication, misunderstanding, new routines, parenting, teachers

The Specifics

Right now, Cub 1 is sitting in our bedroom floor working on his math homework – changing percents to decimals, decimals to fractions, fractions to percents – the type of math that I despise the most!  Besides the fact that I am not a fan of converting fractions, decimals, and percents, I am also not happy with my oldest cub coming home with hard to understand notes, and he THINKS he’s doing the right problems because it kinda looks like what they did in class today!  So, after my third lecture tailored just for him tonight (the other two also dealt with school issues) I’m just sitting here simmering…

…and thinking that it’s so important to give specific directions or requests.  Teaching is all about being specific.  If I wasn’t specific in my classroom, it would be chaos.  When my MVP’s walk in the door in the mornings, they have specific directions for what they are to do: 1. Unpack their backpacks; 2. Turn in homework; 3. Sharpen three pencils; 4. Write down their homework for that night; 5. Use the restroom; and 6. Prepare for math.  It is posted on the whiteboard and I continuously repeat the morning routine out loud just to make sure they’ve got it.  By the end of the first quarter, I won’t have to say anything at all.  They will be seated and ready to go on with the day in less than 15 minutes.

Misunderstanding comes from miscommunicating.  If you’re not being specific about what you want or need, it’s not the other person’s fault!  It’s your fault for not communicating the specifics of your request.  If I ask PB to wash a load of clothes and he washes a load of clothes, I can’t have an attitude because he didn’t dry them, fold them, and put them away.  I know that’s what I meant, but if I don’t specifically SAY what I mean then he’ll do just what he heard.  After almost 14 years of marriage, I’ve learned to be more specific about my wants and needs.  Right now, I want a new camera.  I haven’t made my specific request known to PB yet because I don’t have a specific camera in mind, but I’m gathering information so that it is clear to him what I want!  I even have visual back-up just in case he tries to play the confused card.

Yes, I took pictures of people with cameras like what I would like!  We’ll see if it works!

Now, if I can only get Cub 1 to make sure he writes down the specifics of his homework assignments, I’d be a happy Momma Bear!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “The Specifics”

Comments are closed.