Moving Forward

Our first Sunday at FBC

One year ago today, the Party of Six celebrated with our traditional Soul Train danceline after hearing that First Baptist Church, Inc. of North Brentwood had elected PB as their new Senior Pastor!!  Our engagement began!!  I’ve blogged some about how God moved through the whole process here and here.  We were given a DVD of the whole presentation that was made to the congregation as they were informed about the search committee’s choice, and at a certain point in the video a deacon of the church said “…[You] move forward in faith, once you hear the call of God…”  In reflecting back on that Sunday, a scripture that was shared with me through my Virtual Community Group came to mind.  It’s Proverbs 4:25-27 – Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you.  Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm.  Do not swerve to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil.  God was calling us to First Baptist, however I (not God) wasn’t sure it was the right time to leave our former church.  It seemed like PB had just returned to work after being on leave for most of the summer because of his surgery, and now God was saying it was time to move?  Really? Right now?  We didn’t actually transition to FBC until December, and I am so glad that we didn’t waiver to the left or right.  We walked firmly in faith because God called us to go.  When you know God is calling you to do something that is outside of your comfort zone, have faith that He doesn’t make mistakes and that He will protect you from the negative people and stumbling blocks that try to prevent His will from taking place.  No weapon formed against you shall prosper!

On another note, my college roommate, Monica ended her engagement to Chris DeNeale on this past Saturday with a WEDDING!!  It was so much fun seeing some of my friends from the undergrad years who “knew me when…”  Of course, the battery on my camera died before most of the picture opportunities, so you’ll have to check back for beautiful pictures of the bride and groom.

I hope that you are enjoying and learning a little through my daily ADHD Awareness posts.  If only PB and I had paid more attention in Parenting 101 back in 2000 when Cub 1 was born! 😉  I guess I wouldn’t have a reason to blog if parenting was a piece of cake!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. Lynda and John Cock says:

    We celebrate this anniversary with you, especially giving thanks for the healing journey through the PB’s illness. Thinking of you with care as you journey through parenting those beautiful children, another calling.

    Lynda

Comments are closed.