Well-Equipped

Today was the last day of flag football for this year.  Cub 1 played early this morning at 9:00 and Cub 2 played at noon.  Had either of their teams won their first games of the day, I would still be at the football field right now.  However, since both cubs experienced losses in the first rounds of the tournament, I am able to get in a few minutes of blogging before starting my report card comments…and I can easily find twenty other things more important to me right now than writing twenty paragraphs about my MVP’s highs and lows for the first quarter of school.

It was a crisp, breezy 34 degrees this morning when we left for the first game.  Now that we are experienced flag football parents, we knew that layers of clothing and warm blankets (Erin’s Originals) were essential to surviving the games today.  We were well prepared and well equipped for what could have been a full day of games.  The most difficult part of the morning was trying to convince Cubs 1 and 2 to dress in layers under their uniforms.  They moaned and whined about not being comfortable.  They had much attitude when we suggested grabbing thicker coats and hats to cover their ears.  But, noooooooo!  They didn’t want to hear it!  Insert another {I TOLD YOU SO} moment!  Not even ten minutes after being outside, Cub 2 was asking to go back to sit in the truck!

Yet, Cubs 3 and 4 (and MB) could have stayed outside all day!  We were well-equipped for the activities of the day.

I started thinking about how important it is to be prepared for all that this thing called life throws our way.  We have to be well-equipped and well-prepared for what lies ahead.  How can I be prepared, you may be wondering?  Equip yourself with God’s word.  I’m not talking about the catchy feel-good phrases that people quote as though they are from the Bible.  I’m talking about real words from God to get you through whatever may come up in your day to day living.  Here are some that have gotten me through (and are still getting me through) my valley and mountain top experiences:

The Lord will perfect that which concerns me, Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever.  Psalm 138:8

Turn all your anxiety over to God because He cares for you.  1 Peter 5:7

Come to me all who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Matthew 11:28

For Jesus Christ, the Son of God does not waver between “yes” and “no”…as God’s ultimate “Yes” he always does what he says.  2 Corinthians 1:19

Be strong and of good courage; do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, he is the one who goes with you.  He will not leave you nor forsake you.  Deuteronomy 31:6

I’m equipping myself with God’s promises because I know I’ll never be disappointed, and I can promise you that you won’t be disappointed either!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Well-Equipped

  1. Doris says:

    How well I remember those report card comments (they call them progress reports in Fairfax county)!!!! That part of a quarter was my least favorite part of teaching. If a parent has been listening all quarter there’s no need for them. LOL
    Hope all is going well for the Kays. Still missing you guys but it is quite evident the move was God sent and FBC is the place intended for your family.

    • I think my least favorite part is that our report cards are antique! We are still hand-writing them in the elementary schools. I miss seeing you! I hope that you can come visit us soon!

Comments are closed.