Happy December!

On this first day of December, I am sitting at home with the dynamic duo (Cubs 3 and 4) for round two of battling the colds from h-e-double-hockey-sticks.  I had planned to be in Richmond yesterday with my sister (I’ll tell you about that in a minute), but had to change those plans so that I could get sneezed on, coughed on, and thrown up on by my cute little sick cubs.  If I don’t catch this virus that they have (because it’s literally been thrown in my face), I can say that my mommy guard is in 100% working order.

Today, I worked during the morning and came home in just enough time for PB to make a 1:00pm appointment.  Here in Charles County, teachers  get 10 sick days each school year.  That may seem like plenty considering we only work for 10 months, but when you have little ones, those days can go very quickly and most of them are never used on yourself.  The cubs are napping and will be evil in a little bit when I have to wake them up to go pick up their brothers.  Hopefully I won’t pay for it later, but just in case my evening ends up being a little crazier than normal, I thought I’d do a little therapeutic typing while it’s quiet.

This week my oldest sister had open-heart surgery, our cubs’ godmother had cancer removed from her breasts, and a family friend is expecting to hear about a possible match for a new kidney.  Definitely too much for me to even process in my little brain!   So, when my heart is overwhelmed, like this week, I try to draw as close to God as possible.  God knows me better than anyone, and He knows how in-control I like to be, but there are times when I clearly recognize that I can’t do it all by myself…I can’t fix everything by myself…I can’t take away the hurt on my own.  That’s when I lift my hands in surrender and say “Okay, I’ve worn myself out over this!  Please take it, God.”  My way of getting His attention to let him know that I’m serious is through fasting.  I did a 24-hour liquid only fast on Monday, and for the next seventeen days, I will refrain from eating meats.  My sister, Sandi, and the cubs’ godmother, Sheryl, both had successful surgeries this week!  I’m expecting to hear great news about our friend, Chad, as well.  I’m very confident that God is going to answer my prayers because of Ezra 8:23.

I have so much more to share with you, but it’s time to wake up the sleeping beauties!  When you feel like praying isn’t enough, consider fasting.  I’ll explain why later!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Happy December!

  1. Lynda and John Cock says:

    Blessings on your sister and children’s godmother’s healing as well as the getting better for your little cubs. Hope your defenses are up to par!!!

    Love, Lynda

Comments are closed.