allergies, family, parenting, teachers, trusting God

His Plans for You

Last night I couldn’t fall asleep, so I just listened to her breathe. I watched her little chest go up and down. Thought about all of the energy that she used up in a matter of hours during the day. She was in our bed. Her feet and legs were draped across my waist. I couldn’t pull the comforter up past my waist without covering her up. Her thumb was in her mouth, and she gripped her doggie close to her face. I could’ve positioned her to be back up on the pillow beside me, but she was sleeping so peacefully. She’s the fourth cub, and I can’t imagine life without her.

We found out a few weeks ago that she’s allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, seeds, eggs, and seafood.  We were so thankful to find out about her allergies through planned testing and not from actually feeding something to her that could have caused her distress.  It was a little overwhelming to hear all of the changes that would have to be made in order to keep her protected and healthy.   Fortunately, we were given a plan of action. Now we have specific steps to take if she’s exposed to any of her triggers or if she has an ezcema outbreak. Adjusting has been much easier because we have an action plan.

Life just works better with plans.  Had we not planned the day before, we wouldn’t have made it to the church on time yesterday morning.  Clothes, shoes, socks, tights, and breakfast items for the cubs were all ready to help make the trek to sunrise service.

We also know that even our best, detailed plans can be unexpectedly changed.  Educators know this all too well.  We can have the best plans ready for the day only to have them disrupted by a fire drill or sick student or having to address a behavior issue.  You have to adjust sometimes.

Life works even better when we recognize that our plans for our life have to take the backseat to God’s plans for our life.  Understanding that everything that happens in our lives – good and bad – are a part of His plan, takes away the stress of trying to figure out what to do.  Trust that He knows what He’s doing with you.

O Lord, you have searched me and you know me.  You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.  You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with my ways.  Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.  You hem me in – behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.  Psalm 139:1-6.   

This is our last day of Spring Break, and although we didn’t do everything we had planned, we enjoyed our week of being together.

As we go into a new week with our planned activities and maybe, even some un-planned events, remember that whatever happens was already planned by our All-Knowing Father.  He’s got you!  Enjoy your week!

Peace and Blessings!

7 thoughts on “His Plans for You”

  1. Beautiful witness to the Way Life Is. So thankful you discovered this allergy before distress found it for you. I know you must be a wonderful mother, teacher, and Preacher’s Wife. Lynda

  2. I know all to well about those allergies. Ashon is allergic to all of the above and was allergic to cheese (dairy), soy, pork. You can imagine how much I had to change and adjust but God is good and now we don’t even think about it we just know what to buy that he can eat and put on his skin (no shea butter). Prayers go out to cub 4 and your whole family. She’ll be just fine.

    1. When we found out, the first person I thought about was Ashon! I’m very nervous about when she’s away from us. This guy offered her a mini Reese’s cup, and thankfully, I was nearby to be able to say no thanks. I’ll probably get better as she gets older and is better able to understand what she needs to stay away from. Thank you so much for the encouragement! I have plenty of questions for you, too, but I won’t overwhelm you all at the same time! Lol!

  3. No!!!! Cub 4 allergic to seafood!! What a downer in a family that loves seafood! But thank God you’ve found out so early in her life and precautions can be taken. She can do without the nuts but the seafood…hhmm
    No, you can’t imagine life without that sweetie. I think back when you had the girls and we had teased you and told you that you were having girls when you wanted boys. They are truly a blessing and I know you love doing that hair. :>}
    Glad the family had an adventurous and fun spring break. Loved the pictorial journey with you. The girls have grown since I saw them. Cubs 1 and 2 are becoming young men.
    Just think….one more quarter and you get to spend the entire summer with them. The older they get, the more fun they are.
    Love and miss you all.

    1. We will find out about the specific types of seafood through her bloodwork, so we’re hoping it’s not everything! That would be difficult!

      I am so looking forward to the summer! That’s the best thing about being a teacher!

Comments are closed.