being helpful, being thankful, celebrations, cleaning the house, family, hotel stays

Help!

The Party of Six has finally settled in after a short, long weekend here and there.  We made a quick trip back to our first home as a married couple (Richmond, VA) to celebrate our mentors’/friends’ 17th pastoral anniversary.  I love short hotel stays because it gives us a chance to rest without feeling guilty about not being productive.  There are no dishes to wash, no clothes to fold, and no cleaning.  It’s wonderful!

But, now it’s back to reality.  We arrived at home back to the realization that we’re way too busy!

Spring activities means busyness.  Busyness means priorities have shifted.  A shift in priorities means that having a tidy family room just ain’t gonna happen right now!  It means that I fold just enough clothes out of the laundry basket to make room for the new load that I need to pile on top of the basket.  It means that caffeine keeps me going more than getting enough sleep each night in order to keep up!

HELP!

I’m so grateful for help!  I am not trying to be SuperMom.  I am not trying to be “every woman” and pretend that I can do everything and all things without any help.  If asking for or accepting help is a sign of weakness, then I gladly embrace my weakling self.  Ladies, we can’t always be everything for everyone.  As much as we’d like to live as though housekeeping comes in each morning after we leave to make the beds, clean the bathrooms, and put out new towels and toiletries – that is not a reality for the majority of us!  PB is always helpful in getting cubs to and from school, ironing clothes, cleaning, and cooking.  Every once in a while, we have to depend on family and friends to help out as well.

When the Israelites battled the Amalekites, the Israelites were victorious while Moses raised his arms on the hill.  As the battled continued, Moses grew tired so Aaron and Hur placed a rock under him so that he could rest, PLUS they held his arms up so that Israel’s army remained victorious in their battle against the Amalekites!  How awesome is that?!

My point?  It’s okay to ask for help, or to accept help from others sometimes.  It doesn’t mean you’re a weakling.  It means that you are blessed to have people in your corner who want you to be successful and want to help you reach your goals…and don’t forget to say THANK YOU before, during, and afterwards!  So….if anyone wants to come over and clean my family room, by all means come on over!  Just kidding! We’ll get to it eventually!  Have a great week!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Help!”

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I am so there feeling swamped and overwhelmed over everything that I have to do and everything that’s not being done. You’ve given me that inspiration that everything is going to be ok, it’s not the end of the world if something doesn’t get done.

    1. Aww! Thanks, Kendra! I’m right there with you…no school stuff going on, but definitely feeling overwhelmed and swamped. Everything IS going to be alright.

Comments are closed.