anniversary, being thankful, celebrations, communicating, family, love, marriage

Marriage is 50/50? Sometimes.

FEBRUARY – Victoria’s Secret gifts.  This is a normal gift in February, so I didn’t get the clue.

MARCH – Chocolate-covered fruit and massage.  Any nice hotel could provide spa services and fruit, so that didn’t help me out either.

APRIL – New Edition CD.  It was the first CD that included the song “My Secret.”  He had it set up to play in the car on my way to work one morning.

I still didn’t get it, so I shared my clues with my friend, Jen, who told me about a resort called Secrets – and she was right!  The only problem was that there are several Secrets resorts, so I still had to figure out which one!

MAY – An orchid plant.  I guess PB was tired of me being clueless, so he made it VERY easy for me to figure it out this month.  I came home to find this sitting on the table.

I checked out the Secrets Resorts web page and found a resort spot called Wild Orchid.

PB is the creative one in our marriage…probably 85/15.  He has been planning our upcoming 15th wedding anniversary celebration since last October.  He’s been giving me clues each month about where we’re going and what we’re doing when we get there.  This month I finally figured it out!  We’re headed to Montego Bay, Jamaica!

Next Sunday, FBCNB is re-launching its Marriage Ministry with a marriage-themed service and reception for engaged and married couples.  I am looking forward to chatting and getting to know some other couples that I have not yet had the opportunity to meet.  One of the MANY exciting aspects of FBCNB that PB and I looked forward to when we first went there was having other married couples – who were our age – to talk to about balancing the husband-wife relationship, as well as the parent-child relationship, as well as the church-family relationship.

Balance is SO important.  If you go into a relationship or marriage always expecting there to be a 50/50 fair share of the responsibilities, then it’s just not going to last.  Sometimes it’s going to be 60/40.  Sometimes it’s going to be 95/5.  Why?  Because life happens.  One loses their job.  Depression happens after the birth of a child.  Drug or alcohol abuse takes over.  One gets ill.  One stops listening.  One spends too much.  Both stop communicating.  Marriage takes work!

I thank God daily for PB!  I recognize that we have something special – God-driven and God-given – and I never want to take him for granted!  We try to keep our balance, but there are times when I have to give more, or he has to give more, but that’s what our marriage is all about!  If you truly feel that your relationship or your marriage is God-driven and God-given, don’t give up on each other!

But from the beginning of creation, God made them male and female.  For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh; so then they are no longer two, but one flesh.  Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separate.  Mark 10: 6-9.

Peace and Blessings!

5 thoughts on “Marriage is 50/50? Sometimes.”

  1. Yay!! How beautiful… I love the thought that PB put into this surprise. And let me say that romance is wonderful, but reality is even more so. And there is no doubt that PB appreciates the daily sacrifices you make for the sake of marriage and family. That REAL-LIFE love you give everyday is EXTREMELY romantic! God bless you girlfriend!

  2. Happy Anniversary, dear friend. You both are so lucky to have each other.

    I know it will be a great year and a great year for you.

    Lynda (coming up on 52 yrs this August)

Comments are closed.