Hard Headed!

A hard head makes for a soft behind.

Ever heard that before?  Being stubborn results in punishment.  Not making good choices results in consequences.

About two weeks ago, I woke up with a painful knee, after an afternoon of horseback riding.  It didn’t stop me, though.  I limped around for a few days and even performed in our annual spring variety show at school before PB could convince me to get it checked out.  The doctor at urgent care diagnosed me with a sprained knee and I walked out with ibuprofen, a muscle relaxer, and a knee brace that actually covered my whole leg because I’m so short!  Anyway, I was given orders to take it easy, wear the brace for a week, and follow-up with my regular doctor.  It was very near to the end of the school year, so it was difficult to “take it easy” with all that I needed to do in my classroom.  “Take it easy” – what does that mean exactly?  Telling me to “take it easy” is like saying “have a nice day.”  That’s such a broad statement!

Well, my version of “take it easy” got me another week of wearing the knee brace, but this time with more specific instructions from my regular doctor about what she wanted me to do.  So….because I did not listen, I cannot move quickly to do anything; I am going to miss my cousin’s graduation; and worst of all I have to keep still!  If I don’t keep still, I’ll be scheduled for an MRI next week and I don’t want them to find anything else wrong that will keep me from enjoying my summer break in the way that I want to enjoy it.  I’m a little grumpy already, just thinking about the what-ifs with this knee.  However, I was texting a friend earlier this evening and complaining about not being able to get my way and she reminded me that I have to be still and know that He is God.  Being hard headed can result in discipline from our Heavenly Father.  Maybe I do need to slow down.  Maybe I do need this lesson on remembering that I’m not the one running things around here.

Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of our spirits and live! Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness. No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.  Hebrews 12:9-11

God disciplines us because He loves us.  I’m working on being submissive to His will.

Peace and Blessings!

