In All Of His Awesomeness!

Goodness!  Where has the time gone?!  Our busy end of the summer is turning into a busy beginning of fall.  The Party did lots of traveling during our last few weeks of summer vacation.  PB had several conventions to go to in Memphis and New Orleans.  We took the whole Party to Memphis, and the cubs spent a week with GMB while PB and I were in New Orleans.  Needless to say, it was a huge struggle to jump into school mode so quickly after so much fun.  Now, we’re back to school, back to football practices, and back to church activities.

One of the best things about my job is being able to start over with a clean, blank slate every year.  There’s always the opportunity to try something new, to tweak last year’s lesson plans (especially if they were a flop), and to figure out what approach to take with a new set of students…exciting times for an educator!  Then my reality check hit me right between the eyes.  Earlier in the week, I had a moment when I thought, “I don’t think one person is listening to a word I’m saying right now!  What in the world…?!”  Even before the school year began I took a look at my new list of students, picked up my phone, and texted PB that this was definitely my LAST year of teaching!  It’s never a good thing to start the year off in a funk.  It makes for a very long school year.

In steps God – in all of His awesomeness – by way of a former student who invited me to witness her baptism this coming Sunday and a bunch of hugs from my new MVP’s today before we left out of our classroom for dismissal.  I even received an adorable gift from one student to celebrate the end of the first week.

There is ‘muffin’ to it with you as my teacher. Thanks for a great week!

I love when God gives me clear signs that He’s still looking out for me.   It’s something that I should’ve known anyway!  Our season of financial struggle continues and I spent many days and hours while out of school working on a budget for our family with the help of counseling services and others.  At one point, while discussing where we were (within or beyond national percentages), I was told that our two biggest living expenses were day care and tithing.  This person said “You can’t do anything about the day care situation, so…”

My thought was “…and we are not going to cut back on our tithes either, so…”

After that phone conversation, I had to spend some time talking to God because why were we struggling?  What happened to opening the windows of heaven, God?  PB and I aren’t cheating on each other; we aren’t spending lavishly; we have a cracked windshield on one vehicle and a broken side mirror on the other that we can’t fix;  we’re preaching Your word/studying your word; we take one step forward only to be knocked three steps back!

After my little temper tantrum, my phone chimed indicating that I had a text message.  When I picked up my phone there was a message from my MB that said,

Just sitting here thinking of the early morning prayer service when Mrs. Kelly prayed that you be dedicated to God and you did all kinds of movements like you knew what was going on.  I just felt like I should share that with you.  Love you.

Wow, God!  Mrs. Kelly, who later became Bishop Kelly – the first African American female bishop in the United Methodist Church – prayed for me while I was growing in my mother’s womb.  God stepped in – in all of His awesomeness – and reminded me that it’s not just about tithing.  His message to me was “trust ME” and “worship ME” and the heaviness all around me that day was lifted!  It didn’t change our circumstances, but it changed the way I approach our circumstances.  We are blessed.  It’s that simple.

I’m trusting and believing that He’s hand-picked my new MVP’s just for me to love on for a little while.  I’m sure that I will be a snotty-nosed mess (like always) at the end of the school year when I have to send them to third grade!

I’m not sure when I’ll have a late night again to share with my blog family.  Right now, I’m trying to keep myself awake while waiting for PB and Cub 1 to get back from a revival.  Just remember that whatever your storm may be right now – TRUST HIM and WORSHIP HIM – endure the storm knowing that He will equip you to handle it.

No temptation has seized you except what is common to man.  And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.  But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.  1 Corinthians 10:13

Peace and Blessings!

8 thoughts on “In All Of His Awesomeness!

  1. Sharon says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. I am praying that God will open a window and pour out that blessing. I needed this this morning.

    Love you,

    Sharon

  2. PAT says:

    I needed to read this this morning. I am sitting here with situations that I am going through, decisions I am going to have to make and just reading this gave me the biggest lift you’d never know!! ❤ you!

  3. Lynda Cock says:

    What a witness. Just buried my father yesterday. One of the traits I celebrated about his wondrous long (98 years) life was teaching us to tithe. I recently read in the United Methodist Advocate about Mother Kelley. Quite moving. Bless you for this connection. More later. Blessings on your new year of teaching. Lynda

    _____

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your father’s passing, Lynda! However, I know that you are thankful for the many years that you had with him here. I am thankful for another year to shape young minds! Thank you for your constant encouragement!

Comments are closed.