cleaning the house, clutter, family

De-cluttering Update

One of my goals for 2012 was to de-clutter a storage closet in our house.  I blogged about it here.  I made it a priority to get this project completed while I was at home for the summer.  First, I had to watch the weather for a span of 2-3 days of no precipitation.  Cubs 1 and 2 helped me move everything out of the closet and into the backyard.  I’m sure I would’ve heard from our homeowner’s association if I had left it out there much longer than that!!

Then, we started bagging up trash, broken toys, and old books/papers.  Everything that I decided to keep was put into clear plastic containers.  So here’s the “before” picture of the closet again…

Junk Closet!!

…and here’s what it looks like now.

Big containers to hold big things!
Little containers for lots of little things!

I threw away tons of stuff that we had just been moving from house to house for years!  The containers are organized according to content.  For example, there’s one filled with pictures, picture albums, and picture frames.  There’s another that is full of teacher stuff.  Also, each cub has a plastic bin for the things that they wanted to keep as long as everything fit in the container with the lid closed.  Whew!!

Up next for me is the garage…stay tuned!

Peace and Blessings!

2 thoughts on “De-cluttering Update”

Comments are closed.