ADHD, family, parenting

ADHD Awareness Week: Fact Four

ADHD Awareness Week is October 14 – 20, 2012.  We were chosen to parent a child with ADHD, so this week is all about awareness and giving you a peek into our world.  There are seven facts listed on the ADHD Awareness Week web page that I thought I would share this week – one each day.  Here’s fact four:

Fact #4: Other mental health conditions frequently co-occur with ADHD.

Our cub is very anxious (betcha can’t guess who he gets that from!) and the tiniest problem in a normal person’s eye is magnified 100 times to him.  When he was younger, he could not understand why he did the things he did or felt the way he felt in certain situations. One afternoon, some friends of ours from North Carolina stopped in for a quick overnight stay. I made the mistake of telling him about it on our way home from school on the same day that they were coming. He got so nervous, and complained about his stomach hurting the whole ride home. I spent most of the ride home reminding him that these were our friends and that he knew them and that he didn’t have to be afraid. He understood and agreed with everything I said, but it didn’t stop the anxiety of the unexpected. As he has gotten older, it’s been better.  Now that we have hit the middle school years, there are new anxieties that he has to face…HE has to face them.  We cannot physically “be in his ear” all day at school to talk him through everything that brings about anxiety, but I taught him to recite Philippians 4:13 every morning before he got out of the car last year.  This year, when I dropped him off for the first time, he automatically said, “Philippians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” and even though I wanted to jump out of the car and hug him for remembering (not cool for a tween standing in front of his peers), I just smiled and said, “That’s right! Have a great day!”

Peace and Blessings!

