ADHD, family, parenting

ADHD Awareness Week: Fact Six

ADHD Awareness Week is October 14 – 20, 2012.  We were chosen to parent a child with ADHD, so this week is all about awareness and giving you a peek into our world.  There are seven facts listed on the ADHD Awareness Week web page that I thought I would share this week – one each day.  Here’s fact six:

Fact #6: ADHD is nobody’s fault.

Could it be that I ate too much processed food while I was pregnant with him?  I just couldn’t get enough of fried hotdogs and applesauce for breakfast every morning!  NOPE!

Could it be because we moved to a different state, had a new baby, and suffered the loss of a (grand)parent? We didn’t really pay any attention to what he could’ve been thinking or feeling during that roller coaster year.  NOPE!

Could it be because PB is his PB?  I always call him an undiagnosed adult with ADHD (love you, dear!).  NOPE!

It’s nobody’s fault…really?  I have a hard time with this fact.  Can’t I blame it on someone?!

Peace and Blessings!

4 thoughts on “ADHD Awareness Week: Fact Six”

  1. So true, Evelyn. Mine has never been diagnosed with ADHD, but there have been plenty of times that I wondered “is this behavior because of something I did or said” when he was younger and impressionable. I think we are programmed somehow to blame ourselves, but at some point we have to know that some things are beyond our control. Love your blogs!

Comments are closed.