family

Stay Connected

Plug Into God

So, how ‘ya been doing?!

I’ve missed blogging, and I’ve finally figured out why I haven’t been doing it since the new year began. It’s a little embarrassing, but I can’t pretend it doesn’t happen to (even) the preacher’s wife.

What happened, you may ask? I became disconnected from my source of inspiration. You see, I used to have a nice routine in place which involved an early morning prayer and devotion period before starting the rest of my day. No children, phone, or Facebook to interrupt me.  However, when winter break happened, I was no longer the first person awake anymore; which meant my alarm clock was one of the cubs tapping my shoulder because they were hungry and ready for breakfast; which meant my mornings started with fixing breakfast for the cubs before doing anything else; which meant interruptions happened all.day.long.  So, when it was time to go back to work and back to my normal routine, I forgot to put my time with God back into my morning.  I still did my quick car prayer before pulling out of the driveway –

“God help me to remember that nothing can happen today that you and I together can’t handle. Bless us all to come back home safely this day. Amen

I still did a bedtime prayer –

“Lord, thank you for getting me through another day.  Please be a fence all around our house tonight as we sleep…zzzzzz [I always fall asleep praying!].”

I still did quick prayers throughout the day when someone requested it –

“God, please bless —- through surgery today.  Thank you for prayers already answered. Amen.”

However, none of my quick fix prayers can match the thirty minutes I’ve neglected spending time in conversation with God every morning.  Last week, after toiling over what to give up for Lent on our way to Ash Wednesday service, God sent a preacher to remind me to “keep the main thing, the main thing.”

Pastor Cynthia Turner preached from Genesis 2 and talked about God blowing the breath of life into Adam’s nostrils and that it connected Him to Adam.  We then, must stay connected to God by breathing a prayer back to Him.  We must stay connected! Duh!  No wonder everything around me seemed to be unraveling!  The cubs were sick, I was sick, the vehicles are sick, the laundry is piled to the ceiling, school is crazy, church is busy, and I’m not doing a good job of juggling it all.  So, God used Dr. Turner to remind me to stay connected to Him through prayer.  You best believe I am following those directions!

pray every time

Do things seem to be unraveling for you, too?  Get connected again!!

Off and running!

2 thoughts on “Stay Connected”

  1. This is so true and I found that message to hit home as well. I need to add a morning devotion to my life to balance it all out. I have been able to stop and pray and read my word during my challenging times but I must connect with Him first and not just my scripture reading but true devotion. As always you are an inspiration.

Comments are closed.