family, love, sick days, thoughtfulness

Love in Action

I’m certain that I have the most wonderful church family!

About a month ago, we were at church for our spring revival series called March Madness: It’s a Holy Thing. It was an awesome month of revival!

Cub 4 was not feeling well on one particular night, but with medicine, she was her normal self. While at church that evening, however, she became even more sick and was very irritable and crying by the time we finished the church service. In the midst of trying to get her quickly to the truck so that she could feel miserable in the comfort of her car seat, she began throwing up right outside of PB’s office door. Immediately, there were women all around! Getting paper towels, a waste basket, cleaning up what didn’t make it to the wastebasket, rubbing Cub 4’s back while she continued to get sick…I just stood there and watched it all take place for a moment. It was amazing to see love in action. When Cub 4 had nothing left to give, I scooped her up to put her in the truck. One of the other PWs made this travel waste basket for the ride home.

20130417-054905.jpg

I was absolutely blown away by the outpouring of love and encouragement that my cub and I received that night. Who in their right mind would move towards a sick child (that is not their own) rather than away from them? and risk the chance of getting sick also? or to end up with the aroma of it in their nose? or stains from it on their clothes? Blown away, I tell ya!

Love is an action. Here’s a reminder in 1 Corinthians 13:

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

You can say it all day every day, but if you’re not showing it, you will have a hard time convincing someone that you really mean it.

Practice love this week! Have I mentioned lately that I love my church family?! Lol!

Off and Running!

3 thoughts on “Love in Action”

  1. Little did you know when you came to FBC that your kids became OURS and ours became YOURS! It’s just what we do!! 🙂
    Audrey

  2. Like I’ve said time and time again, I am so happy that you and the kids (PB too) are so loved and happy at First Baptist. I see it in the smiles on your faces and hear it in your MB blogs. Remember, though you guys are gone this sistah still loves you!!!
    I await those blogs so I can keep up with the Kay Den. LOL

Comments are closed.