It’s Just Time

It’s early in the morning and I’m sitting in the dark with Cub 4 resting on my chest receiving another breathing treatment. Whenever her asthma flare ups happen, it’s guaranteed to be a sleepless night for me. I’m up constantly listening to her breathe, trying to decide if it’s getting worse, wondering if we need to make a trip to the ER. It’s going to be a long, tiring day at school as a result.

For awhile, PB and I have talked about the idea of me coming home and leaving teaching to try to balance our crazy, busy lives a little better. Back in March, it was confirmed by God that it was time for me to be a stay-at-home mom (SAHM) again. We have been working on lots of transitional matters to make this possible. Last week, I made it “Facebook official” (as my friend, Erin, called it) that I would not be returning to work next year. Since then, I have been encouraged by so many colleagues and friends. I’ve done a lot of crying (like now) and any lingering thoughts about whether or not we were doing the right thing began to disappear. It’s annoying how sneaky the devil can be by making you second guess what God has planted in your heart.

This morning, I am so thankful for all who have let me know that I will be missed, or how I helped their children, or what a great decision we’ve made.

This morning, while listening to Cub 4 sing her way through her breathing treatment, I was able to encourage myself:

Yes. It’s time to come home so that I can take care of my sick cub (and nap) on days like today. Instead she will be going to the office with PB so that she continues to get breathing treatments every four hours.

Yes. It’s time to come home so that I don’t have to pump myself full of caffeine all day to be an alert and effective teacher.

Yes. It’s time to come home and make family a priority as we sit on pins and needles waiting to discover if Cub 1 will pass the seventh grade.

Yes. It’s time to come home when one of my paychecks goes right back out of the account for day care costs.

It’s just time!

This scripture is my daily verse for today and it’s so fitting:

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:11 NIV)

Encouragement from others and self makes life’s difficult decisions easier to maneuver through.

Encourage someone today!

Off and running!

18 thoughts on “It’s Just Time

  1. Sharon James says:

    Your FBC family will always have your back. Just let us know if you need something.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Isn’t it wonderful that our “On Time” God is working things out for you!! You will probably still need caffeine to get through the days and, the late nights will still happen but, you will be SO happy!!

  3. Jackie Stanard says:

    That’s right Ms. E you are making a good decision. Cub 4 and so do the other cubs. Also I know daycare is high. If I was in your area and not working I would love to help you.
    Don’t worry cub 1 will pass.

    • Thank you, Mrs. J!! I’m happy to be getting rid of the day care costs! I’m counting down the weeks until it’s a thing of the past!

  4. Sharon says:

    Evelyn,

    Hats off to you for making a great decision! You can forget about that afternoon nap you mentioned above. LOL!

  5. Lynda Cock says:

    I give great thanks that both of our daughters-in-law have made the same decisions and have had precious time with their children’s early developing years. Now that their youngest are about to enter kindergarten, they are exploring their next steps, although with four children each, there is still a need for lots of organization and guidance, so exploring part-time work.

    I love the idea that now you can be the beloved teacher’s volunteer person…in each of your children’s classrooms. For every thing a season. With care, Lynda

    _____

    • I have the same plans to one day return to part time work in the school setting when my season comes! Thanks always for your encouragement!

  6. Gail Fogg says:

    Evelyn, you are definitely making the right decision. From a mom who has been there and done that, believe me when I say these years will pass by so fast that one day you will look up and wonder where they went. YOU and PB are awesome parents. I know that I am an outsider looking in, but it shows in your daily walk, how Blessed those four are!

  7. Becky Mays Jenkins says:

    Well Lil’Sis–I am happy for you! Working and trying to raise four cubs can be a challenge. I was able to stay home with Ronnye during her early years and I am so grateful for it!! …and now I am getting ready to be a stay at home wife!! I am retiring on July 31, 2013!!! I am so excited!!! Hay–maybe we can schedule some “play dates”!!! LOL!!1 Love ya much!!

  8. ginny says:

    Congratulations on making a wonderful decision! Welcome to the glamorous life – by 6am today I have carried a dog with a hurt paw out into the rain to use the bathroom, done a load of laundry, changed an exploding diaper, changed my own clothes that managed to get covered in said diaper and vacuumed & mopped the entire downstairs 🙂 Seriously, it is the greatest job on earth just as long as you don’t scale back on the caffeine anytime soon, ha!ha!

  9. Doris says:

    You have made the right decision!! You can teach the girls everything and more that they can learn in daycare. Your kids need you more. Now you can be one of those Volunteer Moms you’ve always desired ;>}

Comments are closed.