Goodbye, Whites!!

Calm down, calm down…I’m talking about clothing and shoes!! 😄 Yes, I am someone who still stops wearing white when Labor Day arrives. Saying goodbye to whites means saying hello to the beautiful fall season, and fall colors!

How was my first week as a SAHMB (Stay-at-Home Momma Bear) you may ask? A little bit busier than what I had imagined, but what an awesome feeling to be able to actually see each one of my cubs off on their first days of school!! I was usually the one with butterflies in my stomach as I waited for my new class to arrive. This year, I was able to just watch them walk into their schools for the first time. It was great!

Cub 2 was the first to go to school on Monday as a 4th grader!

20130831-210414.jpg
How was his first day? “The cafeteria food was great!” Cub 2 has also decided to try percussion in the band. We have about a week to purchase a bell kit to get him started.

Cub 1 started his first day of 8th grade on Tuesday.

20130831-210739.jpg
How was his first day? “Three girls said they liked me!” Later, I learned that he managed to get three of the four electives that he wanted.

Cub 3 started her first day of Kindergarten on Thursday.

20130831-210934.jpg
How was her first day? “Good.” With a little more prodding I was able to find out that she made two friends (both boys), and she liked the chicken quesadilla that she had for lunch.

Not one of them had anything academic to share with me, except a stack of paperwork for me to fill out. There has to be an easier way to have our contact information distributed to all teachers! I really don’t have a solution, so I’ll stop complaining now.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend and join me in saying goodbye to my whites!

Off and running!

One thought on “Goodbye, Whites!!

  1. Lynda Cock says:

    What a joy to see your own off to class. I still get little longing to get back to school about this time of year, but it passes rather quickly. We sent 3 off to kindergarten this year and 3 to 2nd grade. No more babies. One is in 4th and one in 5th and then our oldest two are 10th and 12th graders. Kaitlyn is considering a Gap Year between high school and college and we are working with her to find placement in some of the areas where we worked. Since she doesn’t really know what she wants to study, I think this might be a good time to do some service work in another place to give her a feel for the real world out there that needs so much. Nolan has started the year by being on the front page of the Greensboro News and Record as an outstanding runner in the Citywide Cross Country. He also did very well in the Jr. Olympics which were held here in Greensboro this summer. He placed 3rd in the nation in his age group. Life is full and life is good. I’m recovering from a ruptured disc in my back. So thankful that I have this opportunity to rest and heal and hopefully avoid surgery. John continues his Journey Reflections blog at http://www.reJourney.blogspot.com. Check it ou from time to time. Two prominent themes are care for the Earth and care for our interior space, through ecumenical spirit language that speaks to various cultures around the world. Send us your new address and blessings on your continued ministry. Lynda C

    _____

Comments are closed.