Finding Our Rhythm

I had this crazy idea that the ten hours a day I spent planning, teaching, and grading papers would somehow turn into ten hours of FREE time as a SAHMB. (Experienced stay-at-home moms…you can stop laughing now). Where did those ten hours go?!

I’m still waking up at 5:15 every morning and crawling into bed well after everyone else in the house most nights. Cub 4 and I aren’t having any problems filling our day with things to do or places to go. It just seems like the day flies by and it’s time to pick everyone up again! Our mornings have been the easiest. I’m up first, I workout, I fix breakfast, everyone gets dressed, eats breakfast, and then we do our family devotions. By the way, if you are looking for a good family devotion, we are using The One Year Devotions for Kids. It’s perfect for everyone in our family except Cub 4. Then, the rest of the day has no particular rhyme or reason until it’s time to pick everyone up from school in the afternoons.

I must confess that I am spoiling Cub 4! I mean, really spoiling her! I just can’t help it! I feel so guilty about her being home alone with no one to play with except me. When she says good-bye to her cub siblings with a weepy, “I’m gonna miss you!” (uugghhh!); you could just rip my heart out and sautee it up in a pan! It just tears me up! So, she’s been the beneficiary of little guilt gifts and outings because I want her days to be fun. If we’re going out for whatever reason, she always comes back home with something – new shoes, new jacket, new toy, candy, etc.

Scented Fingernail Polish!

Scented Fingernail Polish!

Princess Sandals!

Princess Sandals!

Fun at The Bounce House!

Fun at The Bounce House!

Well, today I signed her up for a class at My Gym. She will get to spend 2-3 days a week getting some exercise and playing with other cubs her age, and I don’t feel as bad about her being stuck with me at home.

photo (21)

photo (20)

We are slowly trying to find our new rhythm. I just hope it doesn’t take me until the end of the school year to make it work (stop laughing)!

Off and Running!

