being thankful, breast cancer, family, God's plans, God's wisdom, leukemia, prostate cancer, trusting God

His Perfect Will

The cubs are all in bed. Clothes are prepared for tomorrow morning.  I am looking forward to a nice, long nap after church!  It’s been a LONG day, but before going to bed, I just had to get some thoughts typed out.

Today, I learned that a former student that I taught when she was in 3rd grade passed away from her third battle with cancer.  A month ago, another dear, like-family friend passed away from breast cancer.  Stupid cancer.  I also know some cancer survivors.  We have one  right here in our Party of Six.

It’s at times like this that I wish I had just a peek into God’s plans.  Why does He choose to have some fight and win by taking them home to be with Him?  Why does He choose to have some fight and win by being able to be a living testimony of His healing power?  How does either help us who are on the sidelines cheering our friends and loved-ones on…praying for them…caring for them?

This scripture in 1 Corinthians 1: 25 kept coming to my mind all day today:  “For God’s foolishness is wiser than human wisdom, and God’s weakness is stronger than human strength.”  My little human brain cannot make sense of it all, and that is okay.  Our God is wiser and stronger than any human, and I’m foolish enough to believe that His wisdom is perfect.

I’m grateful to have known Kayla and Gayle.  I’m thankful that PB, Vonetta, Pat, and Aunt Dorothy are still here.

And maybe that’s part of God’s plan…our lives have been changed because their lives are (and were) divinely intertwined with ours in some way.

We have learned to never give up.

We have learned to smile in the midst of storms.

We have learned to be thankful for each day that God allows us to have with our family and friends.

Trust in God’s plans.

