changes, family, forgiveness, love, parenting

Play-Doh Is As Play-Doh Does

Occasionally, I let Cub 4 get away with playing with her cub siblings’ things while they are at school.  It’s all a part of that guilt thing I talked about HERE.  The other day, she asked to play with one of Cub 3’s Play-Doh sets.  It has four different colors and different number shaped cutters.  I emphasized to Cub 4 that she was not to mix up the colors because I wanted to be able to put everything back in its place before Cub 3 returned home.  I sat in the family room and read while Cub 4 played at the kitchen table.  She played so quietly…too quietly, and I stopped reading to check on her.  I gasped when I saw how mingled and mangled the Play-Doh colors were!
20131010-232540.jpg

Cub 4 didn’t try at all to keep the colors separated.  Knowing Cub 3 and the ear-full I would receive for letting Cub 4 play with her set (she’s a little bossy and outspoken), my first thought was to just go to Toys R Us and buy a new set (not in the budget).  Then, I sat down at the table and tried to untangle the mesh of colors.  I managed to get a little bit separated, but there was still a mound of blue, red, yellow, and green sitting before me!

20131010-232612.jpg

I scooped up the leftovers and placed them in a little plastic snack bag, packed up all of the tools, and closed the lid.  It was time to head out to the gym, so I didn’t put the Play-Doh set away.

Later, after picking up everyone from school, we walked into the house and I heard Cub 3 yell out {“CUB 4!!!”}.  I cringed because immediately I remembered that I had forgotten to put the container back in its right place and I was caught!  Confessions were made…blah, blah, blah…yadda, yadda, yadda. It’s now the next morning and Cub 3 asks if she and Cub 4 can play with the Play-Doh.  I said, “Oh, it’s a mess in the containers.  All of your colors are mixed up now because Cub 4 didn’t keep them separated like I told her to do.”  Then Cub 3 said, “It’s okay!  It’s still Play-Doh!”  Hmm. This same little cub who had a fit the day before about me allowing her sister cub to play with her Play-Doh, is now telling me that it doesn’t matter?!  My girl loves her Play-Doh no matter what!

144    145

That’s how God feels about each one of us.  Jeremiah describes his experience at the potter’s house like this:

So I went to the potter’s house, and sure enough, the potter was there, working away at his wheel.  Whenever the pot the potter was working on turned out badly, as sometimes happens when you are working with clay, the potter would simply start over and use the same clay to make another pot (Jer. 18: 3-4).

God will take all of our mangled pieces just the way we are and make us into the person He wants us to be.  He says, “I still want you, I can still use you, and I care for you!”  How awesome is that?!  You haven’t cleaned up your foul mouth yet? He still wants you!  You can’t remember the last time you picked up a Bible?  He can still use you!  You’re angry with Him because your loved one is no longer here? He still cares for you!  That’s GREAT news!  Invite The Potter into your life today!

Off and Running!

3 thoughts on “Play-Doh Is As Play-Doh Does”

  1. You are awesome, are you sure you have not looked into your real calling? Reverend Evelyn sounds like it could work! Thanks for the reminder.

Comments are closed.