being thankful, birthdays, celebrations, exercise, family, Leading and Loving It, parenting, pastor's wife, women in ministry

Lip Service Love

I am loved!

I’ve spent the past few months training for my very first 5k.  Additionally, it wasn’t just a normal 5k race.  It was a virtual 5k with pastor’s wives and women in ministry from all over the world.  We all ran yesterday and posted pictures all over social media about it.  If you are on any of the main social media “giants”,  just search #leadingandlovingit or #themovement5k to see some great pictures.

LLI-The-Movement-1024x568

Yesterday was a busy day.  I got up early to run my 5k because we had to be at church early for a mission project.  The sun wasn’t quite up yet, but I knew that I wouldn’t feel like running after a full day of other activities.

Here’s how I know that I am loved.

Our neighborhood is made up of about 20 houses.  It’s one main street with two culdesac streets.  If you had a bird’s eye view of our neighborhood, it would look like the capital letter “F” – not big at all and I felt very comfortable about running around (and around and around) our little neighborhood before the sun was up.  At 5:30 a.m., I began my warm-up walk around our culdesac, out towards the second culdesac, and back down the main street only to find PB standing at the end of the driveway.  As I passed by, I reminded him that he needed to get everyone up and dressed and couldn’t stay outside watching me.  Again, I went around our culdesac, out towards the second culdesac, and back down the main street this time to find Cub 1 at the end of the drive way on his bike!  He rode behind me – around our culdesac, out towards the second culdesac, and back down the main street.  I convinced him that I was okay and that he needed to go in and eat breakfast, but he could come back out and take some pictures for me.  I like to think that I was moving so fast that the camera couldn’t keep up with my speed (he hee).

DSC_0005

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Even after taking pictures, Cub 1 just hung out around our culdesac until I finished.  He played with my camera.

DSC_0018

DSC_0036

DSC_0026

He brought our Shih Tzu out to use the bathroom (and that’s not even one of his morning chores).  Cub 1 had to make sure his Momma Bear was okay.  I have to admit that I smiled every time I came down the main street  back towards our culdesac when I found him standing around waiting for me.  That’s how I know I’m loved.  Oh!  It was also his 14th birthday!

DSC_0048

I am blessed to live in a house and to be a part of a family where “I love you” is not just lip service.  We say it, we mean it, and we show it.  It started with PB and me.  It’s evident that it’s overflowing to our cubs and that makes my heart happy!  I am so grateful!  Here’s one of my favorite scriptures about love:

Love never gives up.  Love cares more for others than for self.  Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.  Love doesn’t strut. Doesn’t have a swelled head, Doesn’t force itself on others, isn’t always “me first,”  Doesn’t fly off the handle, Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others, Doesn’t revel when others grovel, Takes pleasure in the flowering truth, Puts up with anything, Trusts God always, Always looks for the best, Never looks back, But keeps going to the end. 1 Cor. 4-7 (MSG)

Pay attention to the “I love you’s” that you receive this week that are NOT just lip service, then thank God for the joy they bring!

Intentionally yours!

