family, forgiveness, school, snow

Forgiveness: Difficult, but Necessary

Winter break is over.  I was a little sad, but I think all of the cubs were ready to go back to school.  Here’s a quick recap of God’s goodness during our break:

Although, the grandbears gave our cubs everything they requested, PB and I still managed to throw in a few surprises like a new game system for Cubs 2 and 3, a tablet for Cub 4, and Cub 3 was most excited about Juggle Bubbles!

DSC_0012

DSC_0026

DSC_0001

The best part of Christmas Day is dinner!  We eat in the dining room and everyone drinks sparkling apple cider.

DSC_0051

I think it’s safe to say that this was PB’s favorite gift this year from his parents.

DSC_0040

Cub 2 had a once in a lifetime opportunity to play in a basketball scrimmage at the University of Maryland during halftime of their men’s basketball game.  He had so much fun and the crowd was so supportive of them!  He didn’t score any points, but the whole experience solidified his goal of attending the University of Maryland when he graduates from high school.

DSC_0018

DSC_0035

DSC_0060

DSC_0138

DSC_0141

We also had a chance to visit the Philly cousins.  Cub 3 loves her time with her favorite cousin, so she wasn’t too happy when we announced that it was time to leave!

We’ve just wrapped up day 2 of being back in our old routine.  Although this second day back at school was one that we won’t soon forget!  Today, a little winter clipper came through our area.  What was thought to be a light dusting ended up being about 2-3 inches of snow and ice.  The county we live in was one of only a few that chose not to close schools.  It was a huge mess and a huge mistake made by the county.  It was very frustrating trying to get my cubs to school this morning.  As parents, we trust that the school system has thoroughly checked out conditions and have made the best choice for our children and their employees.  Today, was not one of those days that I felt the right choice was made.  Many of us made our dissatisfaction known.

Just last night, PB and I were discussing forgiveness.  His position is that you cannot forgive someone who has not asked for forgiveness.  My position is that you have to forgive whether they ask for it or not.

This evening the superintendent of schools released a statement.  Within the body of the statement, the superintendent said, “I am sorry that the day ultimately played out the way it did…”.  Hmmm.  He said, “I am sorry…”.  That does make it easier to forgive and move on.  However, what if there was no letter sent?  What if the county felt they did nothing wrong?  Is it really possible to forgive without a confession that someone has done something wrong to offend you?  I don’t have an answer…yet!  PB really has me thinking and needing to dive into God’s word concerning forgiveness.  I love being stretched by him!

I would love to hear your thoughts on this!  Leave me a comment or something!

Living for Him!

6 thoughts on “Forgiveness: Difficult, but Necessary”

  1. You are so right! The key is to seek more understanding through God’s word! As we continue to work on our relationship with God, we will continue to grow more mature and become more Christ-like when dealing with hard topics like forgiveness. I have much more growing to do in this area! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  2. Wow this is topic is very timely for me. I think I am of the same mindset of PB as I believe an offender needs to apologize and ask for forgiveness. Because I am currently struggling with this very topic, I too have been seeking God’s word. I appreciate Kisha’s comment and it caused me to ask myself, how many times have I offended or hurt someone without knowing.

  3. I always think “charge it to the head not the heart” and sometimes people do not understand that they have hurt you. We forgive others because God forgives.all that bitterness in your heart isn’t healthy.

    1. I agree! If it’s a case where the other person doesn’t even know that they hurt you, I think it takes some self-examination to see why it you so upset. We forgive because God forgives! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Loaded question. I see both sides. I would say that it is easier to forgive if someone asks for forgiveness, but if they don’t I usually don’t deal with them. If it is an egregious offense that has me mentally, spiritually or morally bonded I would forgive in my heart for me, not for them. If they would ever want to rekindle or rebuild our relationship they would need to ask for forgiveness.

    1. You and PB are on the same wavelength with this, I think. He finds it very easy to “let it go” and to move on rather than waiting for an apology, or spending time simmering over why the person hasn’t apologized. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.