allergies, assurance, being thankful, changes in routine, family, new routines, parenting

That Parent

Hey, Blog family! It’s been awhile! We’re almost back to our new normal school routine and I’m looking forward to adding some blogging time back into the schedule.  We have a 10th grader, 6th grader, 2nd grader, and a kindergartener! Tomorrow will be my first official day at home alone.

DSC_0001
Over the summer, I had a conversation with a girlfriend about Cub 4 preparing to go to Kindergarten.  My biggest concerns were making sure that she would not have an allergic reaction to something she eats while in school, making sure she isn’t around any of her classmates who bring peanut-related items, and just the assurance that the school would take her allergies seriously.  So, my friend said, “[MB], you’re just going to have to be THAT parent.”  She knows me well and knew that I needed to face reality.  I didn’t want to be THAT parent!  I had had plenty of experiences with THAT parent while teaching, and I could not stand dealing with those parents!  I didn’t want Cub 4’s teacher to run and hide when she saw me walking down the hall.

I couldn’t be THAT parent.  So, instead of getting my list of suggestions ready for how to keep Cub 4 safe throughout the school year, I tucked the idea in the back of my head that I would just homeschool her if I didn’t feel comfortable leaving her at school.  Period.

Then, yesterday we had a meeting with her teacher, as well as the nurse, and WOW!

– All of the teachers and staff who will work with Cub 4 received a red folder containing all of her information.  I mean they were being passed out while we were there!

– A letter will be sent home to the parents of her classmates.

– The nurse will do a lesson on sharing with Cub 4’s class.

– PB and I can go on any field trips that could present a potential food-eating accident.

– Even her teacher, who normally eats energy bars with peanuts for her snack, has decided to switch her snack this year!

There’s even more accommodations in place for students like Cub 4 that include peanut-free tables at lunch and no food-related treats allowed on birthdays.  Did I mention that I love the principal at this school?!  The nurse and her aid have also been amazing!  No wonder my other cubs love going to the nurse’s office!

  
Well…I don’t think I have to homeschool Cub 4 after all, and I’m so glad that I don’t have to be THAT parent!  After I get my one good cry out tomorrow morning after dropping her off for her first full day of school, I’ll look forward to seeing her in the car riders lane with Cub 3 after school!

I’m standing on God’s promise (Genesis 28:15) to protect Cub 4 wherever she goes.

MB

4 thoughts on “That Parent”

  1. What a handsome crew! I send you love and care as you face your different kind of ³empty nest.² Altho one of our grandchildren isn¹t peanut sensitive, his classroom is a peanut free classroom. Our PBJ kids is not an ABJ eater. (Almond Butter and Jelly.) We have lactose intolerance and egg allergies as well as one with watermelon and strawberry and several other fruit allergies. Plus their mother who is on a gluten free diet. It¹s a real thrill to try to plan a meal for them. So much for the hope that they will outgrow it.

    Wishing you well as you protect that dear little one. Sending care and gratitude for the great MB you are. Lynda

    From: Our Party of Six Reply-To: Our Party of Six Date: Wednesday, August 26, 2015 at 4:35 PM To: Lynda Cock Subject: [New post] That Parent

    WordPress.com Mom2KayCubs posted: “Hey, Blog family! It’s been awhile! We’re almost back to our new normal school routine and I’m looking forward to adding some blogging time back into the schedule. We have a 10th grader, 6th grader, 2nd grader, and a kindergartener! Tomorrow will be”

    1. Oh wow! Cub 4 is also allergic to eggs, seeds, and seafood in addition to peanuts and tree nuts. It has taken us awhile to gather new meals, but we’re getting it done! She is our only severely allergic cub, but we’ve all adjusted well to accommodate our baby!

  2. Wow! I’m so glad to read such a happy ending to this story! I had a similar experience with my youngest when she entered kindergarten. She is allergic to all nuts and I was a nervous wreck sending her to school. My fears were alleviated when I visited the nurse before school started and she told me and showed me all of the precautions that the school takes regarding allergies. She has been a nurse at the school for umpteen years and so far has not had any incidents! My daughter is now in fourth grade and also incident free. Here’s to a safe (allergy free) school year!

    1. You have no idea how comforting that is to hear that your youngest hasn’t had any issues! Praying for a safe and healthy year for both of our babies!

Comments are closed.