Parent a.k.a. Cheerleader

003

This is Day 1 of 31 Days of a series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

At this point in the school year, Cub 4 doesn’t have nightly homework assigned by her teacher.  Kindergarten homework will not start until January.  Instead of letting her play the afternoon away while her cub siblings are working, I make up homework for her, or she does a page or two from a practice book.  Nothing too challenging.  Usually, it’s tracing letters and words or coloring.  Recently, Cub 4 had to trace some letters and she did them as fast as she could…sloppy…messy…and unacceptable.  When I erased her work and told her to try again and take her time, as expected, the whining began.  I tried to explain to her that it was easy work that she had made more difficult because she was in such a hurry.  When I walked away to finish my kitchen duties, Cub 3 chimed in:

Some days, {Cub 4}, you wanna give up, but you can’t because you have parents!

I’m not sure if that was meant to be a good thing or a bad thing, but I’m glad to know that Cub 3 feels that Poppa Bear (PB) and I are not going to let her or any of her cub siblings give up or quit on their schoolwork, while playing a sport, or anything else that involves persevering to completion.  I proudly wear the title of “cheerleader” and will continue to drill into their heads that they can do all things through Christ who gives them strength (Phillippians 4:13).

Momma Bear

4 thoughts on “Parent a.k.a. Cheerleader

  1. Karen Ward says:

    That’s why I love you guys. Not only the parenting is always there but the teaching too!!!! What Cub 3 said to her was hilarious. I can just see this conversation between them two.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, for parents! Such beautiful children! If you are ever this way, I’d love to see you again.
    Blessings on all you are doing. Lynda

Comments are closed.