Don’t Worry About A Thing

This is Day 3 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

It was a very exciting morning!  It was the kick-off to our Missions Blitz weekend!  Day One started with a 5k Run/Walk/Bike event.  Our Party of Six went back and forth and back and forth about participating in the first ever 5k walk/run/bike event sponsored by our church last weekend.  Poppa Bear (PB) had planned to do a “ceremonial-type” mile, but wouldn’t commit to completing the entire 3.1 miles.  I had planned to hang back with the girl cubs because I knew that they couldn’t complete a 5k, and they didn’t show any interest in it anyway.  The day before the race, I discovered through a friend that Cub 2 was planning to ride his bike with a few of his friends.  Not sure how he was planning to get it there because we don’t own a bike rack, and it wasn’t going to fit in the back of the truck.  I had no idea what Cub 1’s plans were, but I’m assumed that he was waiting to see what the other kids his age were doing.  On the morning of the event, Cub 2 was the only one who was prepared for running the race.

PB and the rest of the participants gathered at the starting line.  He had our girl cubs and their “play sisters” (as they like to call them) help him with the beginning call out.

DSC_0006

I guess the excitement of the moment overtook my girl cubs and they took off with their play sisters and the rest of the younger participants!

DSC_0007 DSC_0009

Unprepared and unplanned!  For this Momma Bear, that was a trigger for my frenemy called Worry.

They didn’t have on the right clothes!  They didn’t have on the right shoes!  They would run too fast for too long!  We didn’t pack extra clothes!  I didn’t bring the asthma inhaler or nebulizer!  Who’s going to make sure they didn’t miss a turn through the unfamiliar neighborhood?!  Instead of being excited that they had decided to participate, I let worry creep in, but not for long because I prayed! {#BOOM! Take that, Worry!}

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life. Phillippians 4:6-7 MSG

DSC_0030

Cub 2 (far right) and his friends.

DSC_0039

Poppa Bear and friends.

Cub 2 completed the race, and PB not only did his ceremonial mile, but he completed the other 2.1 miles, too!

DSC_0019

Cub 4 with one of her play sisters.

DSC_0022

Cub 3

My girl cubs completed the race and had tons of fun doing it!  I heard that they cut some corners, but I’m still super proud of them!

They all finished what they started and showed me that I had nothing to worry about!

Momma Bear

3 thoughts on “Don’t Worry About A Thing

Comments are closed.