anxious, family, flu shots, honesty, write31days

Be Who You Be

This is Day 5 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

Cub 1
Cub 1

This year, they only had a two-day notice that the dreaded appointment was happening.  The girl cubs were the first to find out when I picked them up from school one afternoon, and the whining and whimpering started.  “Why do we have to go there?”  “Can we just skip it this year?”

Next, we had to pick up Cub 1.  I also informed him of the dreaded appointment and watched as panic took over his face.  Cub 3 called his name from the backseat.  She was probably about to ask him if he would hold her hand or something else comforting during the appointment, but Cub 1 cut her off and said, “No, {Cub 3}.  You can’t look up to me for this.”

One of the most dreaded activities each year in the Party of Six is getting the flu vaccine.  All four of the cubs are asthmatic which is one of the at-risk groups, so we never pass on getting them poked at this time of year.  I’m convinced that we have the best pediatric doctors on the planet, and they have gotten to know our family very well over the last eleven years.  When all four cubs are in one room together getting their shots, everyone in the practice – probably everyone in the building – can hear their screams and crying.  It is the most embarrassing and stressful five minutes ever for this momma bear!

Cub 1’s response to Cub 3 had me laughing SO hard that I had to slow down while I was driving!  He wasn’t about to put on a brave face for his little sister cub.  He knew exactly what was going to happen in that room and he knew that he couldn’t guarantee that he wouldn’t flip out himself!  There was no shame whatsoever from my 15 year old cub!

Cub 1’s honesty about getting the flu shot didn’t stop his little sister cub from jumping into his arms in tears after getting hers (and he didn’t do too bad himself!).  Even after admitting he was just as scared, he was still the big brother cub that they looked to for comfort and protection on the day of the appointment.

I’m learning, as a parent, that it is okay to let your cubs see your weaknesses.  We aren’t Super Heroes that can fix everything, and we don’t always have the right answers to their questions.  Giving honest answers and modeling how to pray for strength in weak moments are just some of the ways that we can help our cubs fully rely on God for all of their needs.

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”‭‭ 2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9-10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Momma Bearcropped-039.jpg

5 thoughts on “Be Who You Be”

  1. Aw, that’s definitely not a fun thing to go through, but your cute cubs sure did a great job!

    Stopping by from #Write31Days.

Comments are closed.