Shine On

This is Day 7 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

Family mealtimes are the best!

Family mealtimes are the best!

Well, let me start by saying that my evening and night with the cubs was not filled with as much drama as the night before (Thank you, Lord!).  We recently switched to having no TV during the week, so I’ve discovered that it’s important to keep the girl cubs entertained with coloring books, painting, and small craft projects to work on before dinner.  Poppa Bear (PB) had an evening meeting, so we made pizzas for dinner.  After dinner, Cub 2 wanted everyone to talk about their school day from the beginning of their day to the end.  I just sat and listened as they each talked about their day.  Then,

Cub 3 said, “I’m not friends with anyone who’s not a Christian!”

Cub 1 responded, “You can be friends with people who are not Christians.  That’s not right.”

“Nope!  No I’m not!” said Cub 3.

Side note:  For those of you who know Cub 3, you know she has no time for foolishness.  She does not always say the nicest things or keep her unkind remarks in her head at times.  It’s because I know her so well that I’m pretty sure of what may be going on at school.  I can just imagine that someone has tried to be her friend and she probably asked, “Do you know Jesus?” and if their answer was no, she had no problem saying that she couldn’t play with them.

I love just sitting back and listening to my cubs talk, but I had to interrupt their conversation to throw in a quick lesson.  I told Cub 3 that she has to show her non-Christian friends what a person who knows Jesus looks like.  Jesus is kind, friendly, loving, and forgiving.  If she acts like Jesus towards them, then maybe they’ll want to know why she is the way that she is, and that could lead to an opportunity to tell them about Jesus.  It’s not what Cub 3 wanted to hear, but she didn’t have a rebuttal, so I know she’s considering what I said.

In the same way let your light shine in front of people. Then they will see the good that you do and praise your Father in heaven.  Matthew 5:16

Momma Bear

4 thoughts on “Shine On

Comments are closed.