Confirmation of the Promise

This is Day 9 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

Last night, I took the girl cubs to their school for Family Fitness Night.  There were about thirty different stations throughout the school that we attempted to complete from bowling to wall climbing to completing an obstacle course.  We had so much fun, but I was exhausted when we got home.


Wouldn’t you know it?  We were out of milk again!  This time, I texted Poppa Bear (PB) to pick some up on his way home, but he forgot, so he had to go out early this morning.  The girl cubs were still grumbling because their morning routine had to be altered.  They had to get dressed before eating breakfast! The horror!  A little later, when PB left out to take Cub 2 to his bus stop, he called the girls down to show them a rainbow in the sky.


Our conversation during breakfast turned to all things rainbow, including their origin and their colors.  Cub 3 said that some people think rainbows are just rainbows.  As we were gathering backpacks and lunch boxes, a friend texted a picture of a double rainbow that her family saw on their way to school.


When I showed Cubs 3 and 4, Cub 3 responded with excitement, “God really IS keeping his promise!”  That picture was just the confirmation that she needed this morning!  Rainbows aren’t just rainbows…they are confirmation for us that God promises to never flood the whole earth again.

There are always people or things that can cause us to question our faith or beliefs.  Isn’t it wonderful, though, to have God send us the confirmation we need right when we need it?  He is always there!

I am making my promise to you. Never again will all life be killed by floodwaters. Never again will there be a flood that destroys the earth.” God said, “This is the sign of the promise I am giving to you and every living being that is with you for generations to come. I will put my rainbow in the clouds to be a sign of my promise to the earth.  Whenever I form clouds over the earth, a rainbow will appear in the clouds. Then I will remember my promise to you and every living animal. Never again will water become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember my everlasting promise to every living animal on earth.” So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the promise I am making to all life on earth.” Genesis 9:11-17 NLT

Momma Bear

One thought on “Confirmation of the Promise

Comments are closed.