family, prayer, write31days

Cover Your Cubs

This is Day 12 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

100_1863

A couple of my friends were trying to get me to smoke weed today.

There was a fight in the cafeteria and this boy went after the lunch attendant.

Hi. This is {the principal}. A little boy threatened to kill {a cub} today because they laughed at him after he got in trouble.

Mommy, {class friend} made me cry again today at recess.

063
Memphis, TN 2012

These types of cubisms from our cubs make for interesting dinner conversation, and it’s why we start every morning with family devotions and prayer.

There was a time when I would hear these types of statements from my cubs and would be ready to pull them out of school.  I would be ready, SO ready, to keep them as close to me as possible as if I could protect them from any and every harmful word or action.  The reality is I can’t and never will be able to.  We are trying to teach them that although they witness children acting in ways that are inappropriate, they have been taught differently.  We don’t expect them to be perfect in school (they certainly aren’t perfect at home), but we want them to know that they belong to God and that He will protect them from the enemy wherever they are.

045
Spring Break 2012

Always send your cubs out each morning covered in prayer and thank God for their safe return each afternoon.

I’m praying not only for them [Jesus’s disciples]
But also for those who will believe in me
Because of them and their witness about me.
The goal is for all of them to become one heart and mind—
Just as you, Father, are in me and I in you,
So they might be one heart and mind with us.
Then the world might believe that you, in fact, sent me.
The same glory you gave me, I gave them,
So they’ll be as unified and together as we are—
I in them and you in me.
Then they’ll be mature in this oneness,
And give the godless world evidence
That you’ve sent me and loved them
In the same way you’ve loved me.  John 17:20-23 MSG

DSC_0083
National Zoo, Summer 2014

Momma Bear

1 thought on “Cover Your Cubs”

Comments are closed.