(Don’t) Follow The Leader

This is Day 13 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

I had a Momma Bear fail this morning, and I’m glad Poppa Bear (PB) had already left out before he could rub it in my face.  The clue is in this picture:

DSC_0003

Let me back up and tell you why this is SO bad on my part.  I cannot stand sweeping, vacuuming, or shampooing carpeted stairs.  This is the fourth house we’ve lived in that has had carpeted stairs…and they’ve all had a light-colored carpet.  So, since I am usually the only one who sweeps, vacuums, or shampoos the stairs, I have become a little militant when it comes to keeping the stairs clean.  The rule is that we don’t wear shoes in the house.  They come off at the door and if you are heading upstairs, then you have to carry your shoes upstairs with you.  Our stairs are right at the front door and we all were at fault in coming in from outdoors and heading straight upstairs leaving traces of outside dirt on the stairs.  That’s an absolute nightmare to try and keep clean!  The cubs have learned to kick their shoes off as soon as they come into the house, but then they would leave them all at the door.  So, I found a budget-friendly way to try to keep them organized in the foyer in order to walk into the rest of the house without tripping over the obstacle course of shoes in the way.  It works – for the most part – except when we have busy weeks like this week.  Until I can take the time to follow the advice of SimpleighOrganized.com, this is what you see when you come to our house unannounced.

DSC_0005

Now, that you have the background information, a few weeks ago, PB came in late from a meeting and proceeded to come upstairs WITH his SHOES still ON his FEET!  Cub 1 just happened to be awake still, and pointed out to him that he came upstairs with shoes on.  His reply, “I always come upstairs with my shoes on.”  [insert the sound of a needle sliding off of a vinyl record].  This was one of those moments when I had an argument with him inside my brain only!  Later, when Cub 1 finally went to bed, I voiced my concerns to PB about the example he was setting for the cubs.  He had just given Cub 1 the go ahead to do the same thing.  I knew that Cub 1 was going to follow his lead and try walking upstairs with his shoes on.

Now, fast forward to this morning and to this picture again:

DSC_0004

Do you see those TWO jackets hanging on the back of my chair?  They’ve been there since Monday (today is Wednesday).  Do you see the black jacket hanging on the other chair?  That belongs to Cub 1.  He left it there this morning.  Yep, he followed my lead.  Ugh!  Have we lectured them about leaving their jackets laying around?  Of course!  Have we fussed at them about taking their jackets upstairs to their room, or hanging them in the coat closet?  You betcha!

Now, I have to apologize to PB for shaming him over his shoes, and to Cub 1 for being a hypocrite.  Just another example of how much our cubs observe our actions, as well as imitate our actions when we want them to, and when we don’t want them to!

“Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults— unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? It’s this whole traveling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor.”  Matthew 7:1-5 MSG

Momma Bear

3 thoughts on “(Don’t) Follow The Leader

  1. Wow! That was too funny! I sometimes notice myself nitpicking about certain things only to screw up sometime later! Your scripture was dead on. What a pleasant surprise to see my blog referenced! 🙂 Have a great rest of the day!

Comments are closed.