family, obeying parents, obeying rules, parenting, write31days

Who’s The Boss?

This is Day 14 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

“You’re not the boss of me!” is a popular saying among our cubs – to each other – never to me or Poppa Bear (PB)!  That would result in a come to Jesus experience.  We almost had one today.

It’s been a rushed day.  The cubs had a two-hour early dismissal from school today and they are off tomorrow.  The cubs were looking forward to getting home because they wanted to watch television.  We no longer watch TV during the week and we no longer have cubs waking up with nightmares!  It’s a wonderful thing!  Anyway, PB and Cub 1 went out to get haircuts.  I picked up the girl cubs.  They were to clean up their room and then they were free to turn on the TV since today was the start of their weekend.  They worked and fussed and fussed and worked and just when they thought they were finished, I told them that we had to go pick up Cub 2 from his bus stop.  Cub 3 was not happy!  She was so ready to watch TV!  She pouted until we got back home.  I went upstairs to check their room and wouldn’t you know it?  They strategically pushed things that were on the floor to the sides of the room, up against the wall, and under their bed, to make the floor appear to be clean.

Books have a place.  Toys have a place.  Dirty clothes have a place. Once they’re all in their right places, the room looks neat and clean. This time, I stood in the doorway and supervised.  Oh, but my dear Cub 3 decided that she just wanted to sit and sulk on the bedroom floor instead of following my directions and cleaning.  Have you noticed that many of my cubisms have involved Cub 3?  Due to her noncompliance, she had to wait 30 minutes after cleaning the room before she could watch TV.  She reluctantly finished cleaning the room and then she cried herself to sleep!


By the  way, I think crying yourself to sleep is the best sleep in the world!

As parents, you can expect that your cubs will see just how far they can push you.  They want to see just how serious we are about the consequences we set when our directions aren’t followed or when rules are broken.  Let me encourage you to stick with it!  They’ll take you seriously, if you take you seriously.  I like to think that I am preparing my little cub for that future supervisor she won’t like, but will still have to respect.  However, knowing Cub 3…she will be her own boss!

Children, obey your parents because you are Christians. This is the right thing to do. Ephesians 6:1

Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

Momma Bear

1 thought on “Who’s The Boss?”

Comments are closed.