at-home moms, family, write31days

It’s The Little Things

This is Day 20 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

I’ve got this stay-at-home momma bear thing down!  I have a spotless house.  My cubs come home to nice warm cookies fresh out of the oven.  My husband is satisfied…in every way.  I’m the much sought after classroom mom, and if you believe anything that I’ve just typed, we need to schedule a lunch date or something so that we can get to know each other a little better!  Just give me a few days to get the laundry pile down!  I’m trying…

My cubs like having me at home sometimes.  The boy cubs benefit by not having to do their own laundry.  I pack lunches for Cubs 3 and 4 every morning.  I have to pack for Cub 4 due to her food allergies, but Cub 3 also likes taking a packed lunch as well this year.  One morning, I decided to write a note on Cub 3’s napkin.  She mentioned seeing the note, but didn’t seem to have an opinion one way or the other about having notes included in her lunch.  Then one day I didn’t write a note, and boy did I hear about it!  She actually looked forward to them!  I’ll be leaving to go out of town for a few days next month and Poppa Bear (PB) asked Cub 3 if she would like for him to write the notes.  She said no!!  How special do I feel now?!


Cub 4 has many stuffed animal friends and Doggie is by far her favorite.  They used to be inseparable.  We were concerned that she would try to sneak him to school at the beginning of the year, but we convinced her to leave him at home.  During her first week of school, I would sit Doggie on the stairs as if he had been waiting there for her all day to return home.  She would run to him first when she walked into the door.  Later, I discovered that Doggie wasn’t the first thing she greeted when she walked in the door, so I stopped putting him there.  Of course she noticed and has now started requesting which stuffed animal friends she would like to be waiting at the door for her each day!


Little things that I perceived as insignificant to my girl cubs because they didn’t react in the way that I thought they should, have now proven to be big things in their eyes.  Yep!  I’m on my way to earning that stay-at-home momma bear of the year award!

So, let’s not get tired of doing what is good.  At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.  Galatians 6:9 NLT

Momma Bear

1 thought on “It’s The Little Things”

Comments are closed.