#Write31Days, family, sacrifice

A Big Girl Cub Moment

This is Day 27 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

Poppa Bear (PB) is still at work which is a good thing tonight.  This morning, I decided to tackle my closet and it’s almost done – well, not really – so I need a few more minutes to clear off the bed so that PB will have a place to sleep tonight.  He will come in and smile and shake his head at me because he’s known me long enough to know to expect the unexpected from me.  Here’s what our bedroom looks like right now.  It’s a mess, but it’s an organized mess…really! 

So, here’s a quick cubism I’d like to share before getting back to work:

Last week, there was supposed to be a “Dads and Kids” event at the girl cubs’ school that they really wanted to go to with PB.  So, he skipped out on the scheduled men-only bible study night and Cub 4 skipped dance class to be able to attend this event.  The problem was that they had the wrong date!  It was actually yesterday.  Yesterday, in addition to the Dads and Kids event, Cub 4 needed to go to dance, and I wanted to attend women-only bible study.  Of course, everything started around the same time.  I suggested skipping out on the Dads and Kids event since Cub 4 couldn’t attend, then I would’ve been able to get to bible study.  PB could’ve taken Cub 4 to dance.  Cub 3 was not happy at all about that suggestion!  She was really looking forward to attending this event with her PB.  So, I decided that I wouldn’t go to bible study.  I took Cub 4 to dance practice and PB took Cub 3 to the school event.

Cub 3 had an invitation to a birthday party in her homework folder yesterday.  It’s happening in a couple of weeks.  This morning when she asked if she was going, I told her that I had to attend a workshop at the church, but maybe PB would be able to take her.  PB said that he was teaching a session at the workshop at the church, so he wouldn’t be able to take her.  I didn’t say no, but I didn’t want to say that she was definitely going to this party.  Then she said something that was totally unexpected.

“Well, mommy, since you missed bible study so that I could go to the school, I’ll miss the party so that you can go to the church.”

What???!!!!  No tears or whining???!!!  No “I never get to have any fun!”???!!!  I was so impressed!!  My Cub 3 had a “big girl cub” moment!  Y’all know I’m going to work out our schedule in order to get her to this party, right?!

sacrifice-happiness

Okay, back to the closet for me!

 “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life.” John 3:16 NRSV

Momma Bear

1 thought on “A Big Girl Cub Moment”

Comments are closed.