#Write31Days, car games, controlling behaviors, family

I’m In Control

This is Day 28 of a 31-Day Series called Bear in Mind: Cubisms.

It was recess time back at Reedville Elementary.  My friend, Katie, had brought a pack of gum to share with us on this particular day.  When everyone discovered that Katie was passing out gum, a crowd of girls, even from other classes, came over to ask for a stick of gum.  The problem was that Katie didn’t have enough gum for the growing crowd of kids wanting gum and she was having a difficult time deciding who to share her gum with.  In steps this little girl to her rescue who takes Katie’s gum from her and distributes it to the friends that she thought was worthy of a piece of gum that day.  Problem solved!  Go play!  However, this little girl forgot to give Katie a piece of her own gum that she had brought in to share!  Never even realized it!  After a requested parent-teacher conference, I knew that I had made a huge mistake and had hurt my friend’s feelings.

Tonight on our way home from bible study during our girls night that I talked about HERE, we decided to try a new game of telling a story together.  Each person was to add a new sentence to the story.  We decided that the story would be over when a person said “the end”.  I started our story, then Cub 3 added to it, and Cub 4 followed her.  We started out doing pretty well.  Our story was about a little girl who ate so many jelly beans that she turned into a red jelly bean and then her friends tried to eat her.  So, she had to jump into a magical book to complete three tests before she could turn back into a regular little girl.  The girls seemed to like this new game; especially Cub 3.  She loved it so much that she started telling Cub 4 and me what we should say next.  She was totally controlling the story.  She started adding full paragraphs to the story instead of just one sentence and the the story wasn’t over until she said “the end”.  By the time we reached the end of the story, Cub 4 no longer wanted to participate.  Her controlling behavior made me flashback to Kindergarten and my incident with Katie.  Cub 3 is truly a mini-me!

075

I’ve had to practice and practice and practice turning my need to be in control into positive outcomes, and sometimes it’s hard to keep quiet when I think I have the best solution!  Sometimes, it’s hard to give up control of my life experiences.  I battle with the Lord over this often (I never win), and I pray for the ability to just let go.  I expect that Cub 3 will be a great leader someday, but we have some work to do to get her there.

IMG_0376Something else that I’m learning from my cubs – that annoying “thing” that they do…you know the one that really gets under your skin the most?  There’s a pretty good chance that it’s something that they got from you!

But I want you to realize that the head of every man is Christ, and the head of the woman is man, and the head of Christ is God.  I Corinthians 11:3

Momma Bear

1 thought on “I’m In Control”

Comments are closed.