Be You!

We are at stop #2 of our Thanksgiving holiday travels. This is one of my most favorite places in the world, and by the time you’re reading this I’ll be snoozing on this couch.

  It’s the home of our cubs’ godparents and our friends-turned-family for the past seventeen years.  Unfortunately, there is a funeral going on right now for one of the deacons at Poppa Bear’s (PB) past pastorate at St. Luke.  We affectionately called him Poppa D.  While PB and our friends are at the funeral, the cubs and I are laying around.

  This is our safe place.  A safe place for our Party of Six is a place where we can be ourselves with no worries of being used or judged.  Titles and positions are left at the door.  

Coming here reminded me of a dinner conversation that the cubs and I had a few weeks ago. Cub 3 said, “At school it’s really hard to be myself.” to which Cub 1 replied, “Don’t.” 

Don’t?  Don’t be herself at school? Well, I want her to behave at school and follow directions, but I guess I don’t want her to act like she does at home where I have to continuously tell her not to stand on the couch or run throughout the house.  However, I also don’t want her to get in the habit of putting on a facade and pretending she’s something she’s not.  I hope that we are teaching them that they should always be themselves. Yes, we have to behave appropriately for the occasion or the environment, but I hope we never compromise our authentic selves; the person God designed us to be. 

Just like we have our safe place(s) as a ministry family, everyone of us has a safe place in Jesus Christ.  If there’s anyone that you can show your true colors to, it’s our awesome God!  He knows us best anyway!

“Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭139:14-16‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Happy Black Friday shopping!

Momma Bear

