bible study, courage, exercise, facing fears, faith, fear, journaling, overcoming fear, parenting, scripture passage, trusting God, worry

We’re Growing!

It’s been a struggle waking up at a decent hour in the mornings!  I’ve spent all week trying to get to exercise classes at the gym (most start at 9:30), but I’ve been enjoying not having an alarm clock and I keep waking up WAY later than I should and I keep missing class.  I’ve been going to the gym, still, but it’s been closer to lunch time.

This morning when I returned from the gym, I found Poppa Bear (PB) standing outside talking to some people in a car that was blocking me from pulling into the driveway.  The car belonged to the parents of one of Cub 2’s friends who were just looking for our house apparently (?).  Cub 2’s friend was one of the students who went on a week long service project trip to the Dominican Republic with Cub 2 a couple of weeks ago.  Cub 2, the mama’s boy cub, took his first airplane ride, first trip out of the country, first time ever being away from family for eight days, and grew more independent just like that!  Since returning from the trip, his little cohort of friends have been meeting up at different places to hang out.  Today’s hangout was at the mall.  They were meeting there to catch a movie and eat.  The girl cubs and I headed out to the beach for the afternoon, and PB agreed to drop Cub 2 off at the mall.

Cub 2 and Friends
Cubs 3 and 4 Playing on the Bay

Did you catch that?  Cub 2 was dropped off at the mall to hang out with friends without us.  Me – the worrier – didn’t flip out over Cub 2 being dropped off at the mall to hangout with friends.  Anyone who knows me knows that this was a big deal, but I didn’t even realize that it was a big deal until later this evening.  Listen, I cannot ignore the fact that we are raising two African-American male cubs.  They have labels placed on them without even opening their mouths.  They get judged just by walking in a room.  They could meet up with the wrong police officer one day and not have the chance to pull out their identification.  So, I do not apologize for the worry.  However, what I’ve learned to do is trust God more than worry.

After surviving Cub 2’s eight-day journey to another country by himself, letting him spend a few hours at the mall with his friends is now a piece of cake.  That’s because I spent time growing up, too.  I spent time growing my trust in God.  I started every single morning in the month of June by writing down scripture passages that dealt with worry and fear.  When a worry or fear would creep in, I was equipped for battle.  #BOOM

My Cubs Are Growing Up!

What. A. Great. Feeling.

What is your thorn or sin that’s keeping you from growing up?  Perhaps it’s time to dig a little deeper and arm yourself with God’s word so that you can battle that thing.  God always wins!

The other cubs have had some growth, too, but we’ll save that for another day.  I’m determined to get up on time to catch a class at the gym.

Who am I kidding?  Tomorrow is Saturday.

Mama Bear

 

